1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon X800XL Boot Resolution Issue

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Greg Roberts, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. Greg Roberts New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi

    I had a X800Xl working fine on my 1680x1050 LCD screen. Booting up no problems using DVI
    on XP Pro.

    I bought a new card to replace the FX5200 on my MCE 20005 (Media Centre) system .
    Its a Nvidia XFX 7600GT . Speed tests showed the XFX was faster so i decided to place this on the main PC (screen above). Works a treat.

    >> Issue - The X800 during boot caused the TV LCD (1366x768) to show "out of range"
    until windows is running. DVI connection as well. Using Catalyst 7.4

    >> How can i force the video boot bios to say use 800x600 60Hz, 1024x768 (i.e. a standard size) during bootup ??

    I can't find any settings ?

    Thanks
     
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Can you just clear something up.
    Your saying that the LCD displays "out of range" which to me is a black screen with "out of range" in white lettering until you get to windows.

    Then you said that you want to force the bios to use a fixed resolution when its booting.
    Are you saying that you have no picture until you get to windows EXCEPT in bios? And that bios is at an unusuable resolution?

    Regards, Ex_ReVeN
    Welcome to the forum, and hello from a fellow Aussie ;)
     
  3. Greg Roberts New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    To clarify

    The previous FX5200 and the 7600GT had no boot text issues.

    During boot X800XL the LCD TV (it has every input under the sun) shows "out of range"
    and the boot text flickers and struggles to be shown properly. Based on the size of the boot text i am guessing it may be trying quite a high boot resolution (perhaps it has bemembered the 1680x1050 LCD it used to be connected to ?) .

    However as soon as you get into windows proper, then the LCD TV syncs on the 1360x768 (60Hz) no problems. All is OK. I want to lock the video boot resolution down ?

    Thanks
     
  4. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Well, im going to go about it logically and say this.
    Before windows starts your not running any software/drivers etc (at least im pretty sure). Your purely utilizing bios and the hardware and its running hardware (cpu, memory, video) tests etc correct?

    Which explains why, as soon as your hardware (the monitor) comes in contact with the software (catalyst/windows desktop configuration) it corrects itself. But before that it doesn know what it should be set at.

    Based on this thought, im guessing that the path to fixing it has to do with the monitor itself. Eg - The buttons on the monitor. You know how monitors have buttons allowing you to resize the screen horizonally and vertically? You should also have an autoconfigure sort of thing where the monitor determines the correct resolution needed and fixes itself up.

    Try that first.
     
  5. Greg Roberts New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The LCD TV is an auto syncing monitor which is quite typical. It has no control to be locked down.

    That is why i have asked if it is possible to lock the video boot bios settings down.

    Thanks
     
  6. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Ive never heard of the resolution being fragged on boot.

    All ive been able to find on the topic is:

    I know your trying to lock the boot resolution in, but can you actually get that resolution at boot in the first place? Ive never seen a bios with that sort of setting, and i dont know if its achieveable from within the OS itself once windows loads. As the above quotes state, your only hope for changing/locking the resolution that your getting at boot is by:
    -Checking BIOS options
    -Using monitor controls
    -Seat the graphics card properly.

    Id probably try removing the graphics card, rebooting without it and then plugging the graphics back in, rebooting and seeing if that sparks any changes.

    Ive also known monitors to warp/change the size and colour of the screen if the cable isnt properly connected to the motherboard. So probably just quickly check if both ends (the mobo and the tv end) are connected properly. That could explain the "out of range" problem.
     
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    ok a bit more info i found...sometimes this problem can be caused by your video card not recognising the DVI connection.

    In CCC (Thats for ATi video cards, im not sure of what the nVidia equivalent is, but its probably similar) I have options to "Force Tv detection" as well as a few DVI settings. Maybe you could try them also.
     
  8. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,209 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    "The LCD TV is an auto syncing monitor " and AT boot the vid card & tv are out of sync..means tv displyas "out of range " splash..Tv is recieving signal that it can"t translate...then auto syncing enables =confused pic on screen
    ??assume it then clears up & you can then read bios screens ??
    & upon op sys loading ALL is good???

    "possible to lock the video boot bios" most likely not as it is a hardware option you don't have control of [you might be able to edit MB bios but not worth it here]

    If the above ?? =yes than it's all related to the TV witch you have no control over,and is a normal function on a lot of LCD tvs.... can you supply make & MD # to confirm??

    edit ??what is the native res ????x???? of the TV?
    :cool: F
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2007
  9. Greg Roberts New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks for your interest

    The native resolution non DVI is 1366x768 and 1360x768 under DVI/VGA

    As i said above, my old Nvidia Fx5200 and new XFX7600GT had no problem at boot time
    on the TV LCD. NB: AGP cards .
    The ATI card had no issue on the LCD PC monitor (i run it at 1680x1050) however
    causes the LCD TV to go bananas during boot while it tries to sync with it. As with most LCDs, 60 hz is the normal frequency. Unlike the normal boot, the boot text when showing is
    in about half the screen (i.e. smaller)

    One of the EDID reader programs produced :

    ==================================================
    Monitor Name : DT-3003X
    Serial Number :
    Manufacture Week : 0 / 2004
    ManufacturerID : 27934 (0x6D1E)
    ProductID : 256 (0x0100)
    Maximum Resolution: 800 X 500
    Image Size : 86.2 X 51.7 cm (39.6 Inch)
    Maximum Image Size: 64 X 38 cm (29.3 Inch) Horizontal Frequency: 30 - 80 KHz Vertical Frequency: 56 - 85 Hz
    Digital : Yes
    Standby Mode : No
    Suspend Mode : No
    Low-Power Mode : No
    Default GTF : No
    Display Gamma : 2.50
    Serial Number (Numeric): 16843009 (0x01010101)
    EDID Version : 1.1
    Registry Key : GSM0100\5&191b004f&0&11335588&01&00
    Computer Name :
    ==================================================


    640 X 360 69 Hz
    640 X 400 85 Hz
    720 X 400 70 Hz
    720 X 405 69 Hz
    640 X 480 60 Hz
    640 X 480 67 Hz
    640 X 480 72 Hz
    640 X 480 75 Hz
    720 X 450 85 Hz
    800 X 500 60 Hz
    800 X 500 75 Hz
    800 X 600 56 Hz
    800 X 600 60 Hz
    800 X 600 72 Hz
    800 X 600 75 Hz
    832 X 624 75 Hz
    1024 X 640 60 Hz
    1024 X 640 75 Hz
    1024 X 768 60 Hz
    1024 X 768 70 Hz
    1024 X 768 75 Hz

    ========================

    while MonInfo produced

    Monitor
    Windows description......... Plug and Play Monitor
    Manufacturer description.... DT-3003X
    Manufacturer................ LGE
    ————————————————————————————
    Plug and Play ID............ GSM0100
    Serial number............... n/a
    EDID data source............ I2C bus (real-time)
    ————————————————————————————
    Manufacture date............ 2004
    EDID revision............... 1.1
    Display type and signal..... Digital
    Sync input support.......... n/a
    Screen size................. 640 x 380 mm (~31")
    Power management............ n/a

    Color characteristics
    Display gamma............... 2.50
    Red chromaticity............ Rx 0.631 - Ry 0.339
    Green chromaticity.......... Gx 0.282 - Gy 0.597
    Blue chromaticity........... Bx 0.144 - By 0.077
    White point (default)....... Wx 0.283 - Wy 0.296

    Timing characteristics
    VESA GTF support............ Not supported
    Horizontal scan range....... 26-80kHz (est.)
    Vertical scan range......... 48-85Hz (est.)
    Video bandwidth............. 106MHz (est.)
    Extension blocks............ n/a
    Timing recommendation #1.... 800x600 at 85Hz
    Modeline................ "800x600" 56.250 800 832 896 1048 600 601 604 631 +hsync +vsync
    Timing recommendation #2.... 1360x768 at 60Hz
    Modeline................ "1360x768" 84.620 1360 1424 1568 1776 768 769 774 795 +hsync +vsync

    Standard timings supported
    640 x 360 at 69Hz - VESA
    640 x 480 at 60Hz - IBM VGA
    640 x 480 at 67Hz - Mac II
    640 x 480 at 72Hz - VESA
    640 x 480 at 75Hz - VESA
    640 x 640 at 85Hz - VESA
    720 x 400 at 70Hz - IBM VGA
    720 x 405 at 69Hz - VESA
    720 x 720 at 85Hz - VESA
    800 x 600 at 56Hz - VESA
    800 x 600 at 60Hz - VESA
    800 x 600 at 72Hz - VESA
    800 x 600 at 75Hz - VESA
    800 x 600 at 85Hz - LGE
    800 x 800 at 60Hz - VESA
    800 x 800 at 75Hz - VESA
    832 x 624 at 75Hz - Mac II
    1024 x 768 at 60Hz - VESA
    1024 x 768 at 70Hz - VESA
    1024 x 768 at 75Hz - VESA
    1024 x 1024 at 60Hz - VESA
    1024 x 1024 at 75Hz - VESA
    1360 x 768 at 60Hz - LGE

    Raw EDID base
    00: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 1E 6D 00 01 01 01 01 01
    10: 00 0E 01 01 81 40 26 96 08 B7 FB A1 56 48 98 24
    20: 13 48 4B BF EE 00 31 19 31 C9 3B 19 3B C9 45 00
    30: 45 0F 61 00 61 0F F9 15 20 F8 30 58 1F 20 20 40
    40: 13 00 0E C3 10 00 00 1E 0E 21 50 A0 51 00 1B 30
    50: 40 90 15 00 5E 05 32 00 00 1E 00 00 00 FD 00 38
    60: 55 1E 50 08 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FC
    70: 00 44 54 2D 33 30 30 33 58 0A 20 20 20 20 00 F6

    Display adapter
    Adapter description......... RADEON X800 Series
    Adapter device ID........... 0x554D1002
    Display settings............ 1360x768, 32bpp

    User/computer information
    Registered user name........ TheFamily
    Registered organization..... n/a
    Network user name........... Family
    Network computer name....... LOUNGE
    Windows version ............ Windows XP
    Windows build .............. 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
    Installation date .......... 18/03/2006 12:00:00 PM

    Thanks
     
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,209 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
     
  11. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    I dont think the Tv was meant to be run with your compy mate :(
    Amazing how a simple switch of hardware changes things...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page