1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID 0 - 4 ssds ?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Whitey, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Hi guys

    I've just made an error and have 4 Corsair F40 SSDs on the way.

    Now, I can refuse delivery of two OR . . .

    Is putting all 4 in Raid 0 OTT ?

    I means I get enough storage space so don't have to get a traditional HDD on the side ?

    Any opinions welcome !

    Darn Ebuyer . . .

    Whitey :)
     
  2. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    4 ssd in raid 0 badass! having traditional hdd wouldnt hurt to have since they r cheap
     
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    what's OTT?

    anyways, I would put them in RAID 0 :) especially on an intel setup
     
  4. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    over the top !

    This is mainly a gaming machine.

    I'm selling on my X25-E.
     
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,473 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    London, UK
    you can always send two here :p
     
  6. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    Kansas
    Sure wish I had a problem where I could afford to eat the cost of extra SSDs coming.:laugh: In anything except benchmarks, it's probably OTT, yes.
     
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    we're at TPU... nothings OTT:pimp:
     
    Kreij says thanks.
  8. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Tpu ?
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,314 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,373
    Location:
    US
    D\i would do my self if i could afford it . i do recommend having at least one HDD still though for backups.

    EnJoY!

    Yeah i hear that even more sad the bank charges for 2 days ( $100) as they are closed here lol.
     
  10. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    For everything else, there's Mastercard . . .
     
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    TechPowerUp lol
     
  12. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    Sorry if i am being a total noob but, doesn't putting SSDs in RAID cause the performance to degrade over time?
     
  13. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    you are talking about the loff of TRIM... Sandforce SSDs don't need TRIM much, the loss of performance is VERY slow, and 4 SSDs in RAID 0 have so much performance its practically impossible to notice it in real life
     
  14. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    I hoping I will see a speed increase in load times for games with Raid 0 vs the X25-E . . .
     
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    you will :p
     
  16. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    It depends on a game but I'm pretty sure the performance gain wont scale the same for loading games. Specially online games this will be pointless even if your PC+game engine can manage it up you still have to wait for the server to load the level.
    But it looks like you don't care much about how much you spend on a new toy so ...
     
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    4x 40GB SSDs doesn't scream rich.... And scaling in speed in RAID 0 is near perfect... He will see a nice speed increase
     
  18. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    No no ! I'm on a budget.

    When I placed the order the credit check failed. So I did a new order with Paypal which cleared.

    10 mins later, I get emails saying both orders dispatched ! You can order up to 11PM for Next day delivery from Ebuyer.

    The X25-e sells on Ebay for about ~150.

    The cost of the two F40s was £190 delivered.

    For the little extra I get more capacity and hopefully speed . . .
     
  19. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    I meant to say for two drives in RAID 0.

    I will be refusing delivery of the other two when the package arrives (automatic RMA then).
     
  20. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Well, initial impressions . . . I think the X25-E is quicker.

    Let me tinker some more.
     
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    If you find the X25-E is quicker, either something is wrong with the hardware, or something is wrong with you LOL :roll:
     
  22. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    haha

    It's defo snappier in Windows.

    Boot up seems longer as I didn't have to wait for the RAID controller to warm up.

    I've no regrets at this stage !
     
  23. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    oh yea, that thing is annoying... How fast are your game loads? xD
     
  24. Jackeduphard New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Have you hear anything about the (maybe just older drives ...) but after a few months the HDD get a lot slower because they have to be writen over so many times?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page