1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raid 0 is it possible to change block size?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AsRock, Sep 24, 2007.

  1. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,999 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    Is it possible to change the block settings without loosing the data ?.

    Another issue i am having is that SMART don't show and not even western digital programs detect it. Systool don't see it either or Speedfan..


    Thank You.
     
  2. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Not sure about the block size, I assume you would loose your data as it would have to re-stripe the data

    As for the SMART, check your BIOS. If even the WD program doesn't see it, its probably disabled in your BIOS.


    :toast:
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  3. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,999 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    Well thanks for the fast responce :p :)..

    Yeah kinda a pain not being able to so i can test the differances. Mines on 64KB at the monent.

    Well all drives show up in bios untill raid is setup. maybe it automaticly disables smart ?. BUT still why no programs detect it at all is kinda annoying. i don't really like SMART but beats me silly why WD's own progams don't detect it.


    O yeah another reason is so i can disable acoustic management..
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2007
  4. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Now that you mention it, I have SMART enabled in my BIOS, but it won't show up in Everest (I also RAID 0 w/2 drives).

    You may be onto something with the whole RAID disabling SMART...

    For stripe size, I think the perfomance differences will be related to the average file size, but don't hold me to that :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page