1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raid-0 Randomly Disconnects

Discussion in 'Storage' started by 3870x2, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Asus maximus iii with PII 945
    Raid-0 configuration with 2x seagates

    The hard drives will randomly disconnect and reconnect. This is a huge problem when playing a game and it suddenly errors out because the hard drive will disconnect, then immediately reconnect.

    I am going out to get some better SATA cables (these are questionable).

    Any ideas why this would happen?
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,288 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Lack of TLER could do it. If the drive is trying to recover from an I/O error, if it takes too long the RAID controller will bump the drive out of the RAID. If you have the option to disable Patrol Read, do it. It always causes the non-TLER drives to randomly get kicked out of my RAID-5, then I have to wait for the entire damn thing to rebuild. If this has happened a lot, it is possible that data on your RAID-0 could be corrupted at this point. I would start doing some tests to make sure it's not the drives themselves.

    How does SMART look?
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I have done checkdisk and am currently doing an HDtach, will post results.

    EDIT: at the end, it said: cancelled by user or error during test.

    I should also point out that this is my secondary, my primary is a 1.5T regular HDD.

    I have no real attachment to these two 160GB drives (only games), it may be a good excuse to RAID some SSDs.

    It works on the 8MB test but not the 32MB test (HDTach)

    AVG Read is 185, burst 380.

    It actually finishes the test all the way before it says it fails on the 32MB. Ran 4 times so far, all failed but completed the test.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    HDTune has a bunch of tests and info as well...

    Nothing amiss in Intel RST?
     
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,288 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    One of your drives might have an error on a particular LBA. You can find out if you check the SMART logs and run a SMART Self-test (preferably a long run) and check the logs again after the test. Don't run the test multiple times or it will cancel the last one.

    I recommend booting using a Ubuntu live CD, install smartmontools and run this on the drives:

    You can install smartmontools by doing

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install smartmontools
    Checkout smart logs with:

    Code:
    sudo smartctl -a /dev/sdX #replace X with the number of the drive.
    To run a long test it will look like this:

    Code:
    sudo smartctl -t long /dev/sdX # once again, replace X with the number of your drive.
    He said he has an Asus maximus iii with PII 945. That is not Intel.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page