1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

raid 0 setup really slowing down...

Discussion in 'Storage' started by smashed_99cbr, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    I have a Raid 0 setup on my HTPC, it has been up and running for a few months, over the last few weeks things have been going very very slow... esp deleting things and accessing stored data

    it is setup as follows:

    1.5TB Seagate 5900RPM 32mb buffer x (3)

    the this divided into 2 containers

    #1 256GB:

    this container is used for booting, OS and primary programs

    #2 (about) 4tb

    this container is used for storage movies, TV, Music, and recording of TV (3 digital over the air feeds and 3 analog cable feeds) as well as an FM radio feed...


    My guess is that as the storage/recording container get more and more full the hard rives are being forced to jump back and forth between the Boot/OS container and the storage/recording container

    so what should I do?

    the system specs are as follows:

    CPU: Intel q8200 @ 2.8GHz

    Mobo: Abit IP35 Pro

    RAM: 2 x 2GB DDR 800 and 2 x 512MB DDR 800

    Video: ATI 4650 512MB

    Tuner Cards: Hauppage HVR-1600 (x2) Hauppage HVR-2200 (both are dual tuner cards, the later has FM tuner as well)

    Hard Drives: listed above

    Optical disc: Sony 2x Blu Ray reader

    sound card: cheap USB card with optical audio outs

    Remote: Snapstream Firefly (RF)

    OS: Windows Vista x64

    Tuner Program: Snapstream Beyond TV
     
  2. Meow9000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    283 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Wales, Uk
    ooh i dont know, maybe a defrag :shadedshu

    sarcasm aside, just clean up any junk on the drive that you dont need.
     
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,375 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Update to the newest raid drivers:Intel rapid storage technology

    Clean out junk: ccleaner

    And, check for errors, then, defrag!

    Edit: Meow9000 beat me to the defrag part.

    Edit 2: Maybe run a virus scan or two, for sh*tz and grins.:D
     
    smashed_99cbr says thanks.
  4. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54

    I will try the drivers...

    its gets defraged twice a week

    it has 0 errors

    no need for virus scans this machine does not download anything nor does it surf the web
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    You check that though ISM ?. All so you could try this for de-fraging.

    Start\Programs\Accessories\Command Prompt ( right click and run as administrator )

    And type Defrag -b -c -w -v

    -b = boot files
    -c = Defrags all volumes
    -w = full defrag regardless of there size
    -v = more detailed analysis
     
  6. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Put your system on a separate physical drive than your storage.

    I recently went from a partitioned RAID0 setup to a 74GB Raptor for OS and the RAID0 for storage. File operations such as extracting RARs and such are still silly fast, and now map loading in COD4 is faster than it ever was because I no longer have the heads moving back and forth while reading/writing data that I'm Seeding. It's like night and day. For a user like me with a data volume that is being written/read to and from 100% of the time, using one drive for OS and another drive for data works out better than a split RAID0.
     
    smashed_99cbr says thanks.
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    It could be a drive going bad, RAID0 has to wait on the slowest drive, so if one is going bad it will degrade the entire RAID arrays performance.

    And it saddens me to see that much space in RAID0...I hope you are backing that up somewhere...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    +2
    So true thats why i like 2 Raid 5's( 3 disks each ) over Raid 1+0 System on 3 and games on the other kicks ass.
     
  9. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54

    you must not know who I am... I have more hard drive space available than anyone you know... lol :D

    http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd259/smashed_99cbr/DSCF1012.jpg
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    I know, I've been tempted to buy from you many a time(and I probably will the next time you have some 5900RPM 1.5TB drives:)).

    If your selling them, you aren't using them. :) Like I said, I just hope you have all that backed up properly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    I use the same drives I sell...
     
  12. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54

    I was thinking about doing a pair of West Dig 2tb Green drives in raid 0 for storage and a single 500GB Samsung Spinpoint F1 for the boot drive...
     
  13. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    That's a pretty good idea. Though the verdict is still out on whether Green drives are OK to RAID. Because of the way they work, they may not play well in RAID configurations. It's all FUD from what I understand, but believable FUD.
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    Yeah, the WD green drive don't play nice in RAID, or at least they didn't. The way WD parks the heads so much, caused some RAID controllers to incorrectly detect the drive as failed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Never under stood why people get these 1tb drives and raid 0 them in the first place.
    Get you a couple of fast 300gig drives and raid 0 them for OS and games and then set you up a 1tb drive for back up and storage if you need that much space.
    Then you have a fast system and plenty of storage.
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    Because we need 2TB or space or in the OP's case 4TB of space...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    No real reason to have it all in RAID 0 though. RAID 1 or 5 I could see.
     
  18. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54

    well I (4) West Dig Green 1TB drives in Raid 0 for a little over a year... it was fast and never gave me any issues
     
  19. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Nice! But you need to bring this info to prominence because every time there is a mention about Green drives in RAID the above FUD is brought up.
     
  20. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54

    right I actually go thru close to 4tb recording on my HTPC in around 1 month... after that I have to start deleting recorded shows... maybe you dont need that much space but try recording 6 video streams at one time (3 digital / 3 analog cable) and storing music and movie backups... then tell me you dont need that much space

    if i had my way I would have more space :toast:
     
  21. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    LOL, I think the medical community would refer to you as a 'hoarder' :laugh:

    I go through terabytes too, but 90+% of movies I watch are deleted sooner than later, and almost 100% of shows are deleted days after they are DL'd. I have no need to keep around terabytes of crap I've already seen.
     
  22. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You ever heard of a dvd?
     
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    Just because it hasn't happened to you, that doesn't make it FUD. I've seen it with my Highpoint controller, it does happen. WD even released a firmware fix to help the issue, though it doesn't totally solve it.

    If you look around hard enough you can find, not only news reports of the problem, but RAID controller manufacturers confirming it.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    yes... actually I have... I own the original of everything I have
     
  25. smashed_99cbr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    323 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    can Intel Matrix Raid do JBOD?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page