1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID Array

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by disarmedmeteor, Sep 24, 2006.

  1. disarmedmeteor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have 2x Samsung Spinpoint sp2504c SATA II drives in RAID 0 with a stipe size of 128 kb. I am using an onboard fasttrack controller, but the onboard controller is SATA I compliant. When comparing it to the single drive in the array, the performance increase is nominal at best. HD TACH Benchmarks:
    non-RAID:
    Random Access: 14.4 ms
    CPU Utilization: 4%(+/-) 2%
    Average read: 62.4 MB/s
    Burst is: 100.4 MB/s

    RAID:
    Random Access: 14.6 ms
    CPU Utilization: 4%(+/-) 2%
    Average read: 72.4 MB/s
    Burst is: 106.3 MB/s

    Any suggestions on what the problem might be, and why the scores are so low?
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    change your stripe size to a larger one
     
  3. disarmedmeteor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The 128 kb is the maximum that my RAID controller supports.
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    in that case i have no idea why it isnt higher
     
  5. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    its a cheap raid controller..
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    well thers that :p
     
  7. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I would recommend a 64K stripe size as that is where I get the best performance from my setup. I even ran a 16K for awhile and it was even faster, but over time it go slower when the drives filled up and the 64K seems to stay the most consistant.
     
  8. disarmedmeteor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I have heard, but would it be that much of a performance increase? Does stripe size play that important of a role? By the way, this controller is on most motherboards today, last time I checked the Promise Fasttrack controler is top of the line.
     
  9. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    That stripe size is too big!!! 128K is insanely big for a home system. I use 64K and it is still too big, 32K or 16K would be decent. Otherwize, yoru RAID controller might be bandwidth limited I suppose, but your scores are too low for a RAID0 if that is what you use.
     
  10. disarmedmeteor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, but how would changing the stripe have that much of a performance impact, I mean it's only a couple kb here or there. Sorry, but I am a noob to RAID...this is my first setup.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page