1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID controller for SATA ports query

Discussion in 'Storage' started by sixequalszero, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,303
    Yes, you can add drives normally. You need at least two drives for RAID 1. That's a nice controller btw. :)
     
    sixequalszero says thanks.
  3. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
    Excellent, so he can add eight more drives? He'll be pleased about that. For some reason he doesn't have enough at 9.5TB internal, 2TB portable, and 4TB unused. =.=
     
  4. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Errr what exactly does he store on his computer?
     
  5. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
    Who knows, a lot of full definition video for sure, that and he pretty much never deletes anything.
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    First off, very wise decision to get a dedicated card. Second, raid5 3 drives instead of raid 1 with 2. It would provide some speed like raid 0.
     
    sixequalszero says thanks.
  7. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
    Oh yes, thanks. It's 5 am here and I completely overlooked speed and was just thinking about redundancy. I don't think he's interested in parity so would RAID 0 not best for him?
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well like you said, he has a number of drives and raid 5 would provide a performance boost plus 2 drives would have to fail before losing all data on the array. I'm not against raid 0 just there are better options out there overit
     
  9. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Wouldn't RAID 10 work better here? It should have faster writes when compared to RAID 5, but 4 drives are needed for RAID 10.



    I've benched recently my RAID 0 and RAID 10 drives as well as my single ones and so you can compare speeds.

    This post: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2393573&postcount=33

    And this post: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2395887&postcount=49


    NOTE: I took 4*1 TB HDDs and partitioned them in to 2 different RAID types. I have 500 GB into RAID 0 and the rest for RAID 10.
     
  10. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
    Yeah, it's certainly a good option, I'm sure he can afford it. I'll let him know.
    Doesn't RAID 5 only have a fault tolerance of one drive?
     
  11. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    I think so but i'm unsure of this.

    I've had 2 HDDs fail on me with my RAID 10 but lost nothing: reason being they were from different RAID 1s within the RAID 10. The problem was the cable that kept losing contact and the controller only found 2 instead of the 4 HDDs. I've since replaced the cable (way to go Adaptec technical support for sending me a free cable :D) and my HDD detection problems went away.
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You are correct. RAID 10 would be a good option, would only do that if there can be (even more of) a sacrifice of storage space.
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,113 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    US
    Raid 5 was best when i was using it but was best with 4 drives than 3 as there was a bigger boost from it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page