1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raid setup

Discussion in 'Storage' started by dysart22, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. dysart22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    High Everyone;
    I have a Asus P5K Premium board and will be running Vista Ultimate. My southbridge controler has 6 sata ports and supports raid 0, 1, 5, and 10.

    My question is: Can I use 3 ports in a raid setup (for storage and backup), 1 for the O/S and the other 2 for Blu-Ray drive etc.

    I am thinking of running a Raptor drive for the O/S, Would this be a good setup?

    Thanks for your help
    Wayne
     
  2. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    So you want 3 drives in raid, one seperate for OS. Then 2 for optical. I don't see why you can't do that. Read your documentation for your motherboard on raid setup. But in your bios you should be able to pick what devices go into the raid array.
     
    dysart22 says thanks.
  3. dysart22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Hybrid Theory;

    I thought thats what it said when I read the manual, I just wanted to double check. Do you think it is a good idea to have the O/S on a separate drive? I've read good reviews on the Raptor drive. I'm thinking it would help performance.
     
  4. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    You wont notice much of a diffrence between a good Sata2 drive and a raptor in real life performance.... thats just my opinion though as i know lots of people who use raptors and like them, personally i could use more space than 3-5 seconds less on game loads....

    You should be able to setup multiple raids on the same controller (i assume thats what your question is.)

    I would put the OS and all your installs on one drive (C:), then use the other for storage, that would be the most conventional setup.
     
    dysart22 says thanks.
  5. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    This is a valid point. Raptors dont have the 1 up they used to on regular drives. Hard drives with lots of storage get pretty quick, because they have a higher density per plate. Get a 7200 rpm now and wait for ssd price drops.
     
    dysart22 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page