1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID vs AHCI mode

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Derek12, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Hi.
    I have a GA-MA74GM-S2H mobo, and a Seagate SATAII 150 GB Hard disk and I have installed Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit. I have enabled the AHCI mode for the SATA ports on BIOS
    I am wondering if RAID mode is better than AHCI mode, though I have only one disk.

    I enabled it anyway and Windows 7 refuses to boot (it restarts continously before the desktop is reached), I reverted to AHCI and it runs fine again.
    Many thanks
     
  2. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    RAID stands for Random Array of Inexpensive Disks, since you don't have an array but a single disc I'm not surprised it won't boot! Sorry, just stick with AHCI if thats working for you.

    Welcome to TPU BTW!
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  3. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    but if you did indeed have two drives or more then raid0 is faster by far.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  4. gvblake22

    gvblake22

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    368 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    That is a setting that can only be changed when you are installing the operating system. If you try and change it afterward you have to enable/install a different storage driver or reinstall the operating system with AHCI or RAID enabled.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  5. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    is AHCI faster than IDE?

    i have always wondered about this setting, sorry to ask a question on Ur thread buddy :toast:

    i have had problem with setting it to AHCI though, it wont boot. but if i set it to AHCI and do a new install of windows i start having problems. :(

    EDIT: NOT TO WORRY I FOUND A THREAD :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
    Derek12 says thanks.
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Yes, it's random. Sometimes they make them out inexpensive hard disks, some times in expensive stone disks found on the beach. Though they really have to be disk shaped (not just rocks). I once made a RAID array of random phaistos disks, I have no clue what those are, I googled it. Point is, it's all random.


    Or perhaps it means Redundant instead.
     
    Derek12, Mussels, jmcslob and 2 others say thanks.
  7. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Oh you awkward sod, yeah, you' got me. Redundant.
     
  8. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    ROFL Dan strikes again :roll:
     
  9. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,372 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    eehhh ... RAID is "Redundant Array of Independent Disks"......
     
    Derek12 and department76 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
  11. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    i chuckled at that one, i learned in school years ago: redundant array of independent drives
     
  12. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    As the link I posted shows, it can be either, I learnt the original (albeit I mixed up the Random and Redundant bit).

    The term was first coined when larger drives were very expensive, so the idea was to chain together a number of cheaper, smaller drives to achieve the effect.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  13. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    JBOD: just a bunch of drives

    that one sounds funny, but is actually correct lol
     
  14. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  15. gvblake22

    gvblake22

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    368 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Back on topic maybe?
    The OP isn't asking what RAID stands for, they want to know what BIOS setting should be used and when.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  16. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,372 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    I had the same problem, back when I was running with single disks.
    On my Win7 64 bit I had to disable AHCI when installing...afterwards I then could enable AHCI mode again and the OS was running fine...I don´t know what the course is....

    A little note: RAID0 is faster than AHCI when running - BUT...the boot-up time on a RAID
    system is much slower due to the RAID controllers initializing of the disks/arrays.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Hello, first, sorry for the late reply :(
    Many thanks to all!
    Then If I don't have more than one disk, the RAID mode is useless and should I use the AHCI? And if in the future I want to add another disk, then should I enable RAID mode and reinstall Windows?
    And yeah the bootup time is faar slower because the mobo have to initialize the controller ... :-(and it used a RAID0/JBOD mode...
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    IDE = the old standard
    AHCI = IDE + NCQ and hotswap support
    RAID = same as AHCI, but the ability to use RAID modes.


    If you change a drive in/out of RAID, it has to be formatted. So yes, you have to reinstall windows if you use RAID at a later date. You do NOT need RAID to have multiple drives.
     
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    mikek75 was right with Random array it is either.

    Anyroad, as regards to RAID vs AHCI - Intel actually recommend that you use RAID instead of AHCI even if you're not using RAID features as this gives you...

    "Maximum flexibility, due to the issues caused when the mode is switched once an operating system has already been installed."

    ... it is possible, if our nub 'technicians' built a machine with IDE enabled (AHCI is a requirement for our builds) I'd have to come in and swap 'em over to AHCI with Windows installed, from my own experience the RAID mode that Intel recommend you use doesn't offer any more benefits than AHCI unless you're going to bung in another drive and RAID them.
     
  20. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    No it is either inexpensive or independent, R always means redundant. Random makes no sense whatsoever.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    ^ what he said. JBOD is the only raid that would make sense with random
     
  22. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    I already admitted I'd f***** up with the R abbreviation.
     
  23. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'll have to find the literature I have that states random - actually Mussels stated it before I finished my post. It's JBOD I was thinking of.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page