1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID0 or new HD?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Lampmaster, Oct 10, 2009.

1. Lampmaster

Lampmaster New Member

Thanks Received:
    Once I get my i7 system together the weakest part in my computer will be my HD. I've been wanting more space anyways so I want another one. My current HD is WD caviar blue 500 gig.

So, do you guys think I should buy another of my current HD and RAID0? Or buy a different HD like a 640 gig WD black or 1 tb WD black?
  2. LittleLizard

LittleLizard New Member

Thanks Received:
    raid 0 if u feel lucky, caviar black 640 if u dont
  3. Lampmaster

Lampmaster New Member

Thanks Received:
    Why if I feel lucky? I'm a noob when it comes to raid so yeah... Just wondering which would be best performance
  4. RuskiSnajper

RuskiSnajper

Thanks Received:
    with raid 0 you won't lose anything , other than time and steel nerves configuring , well you need to setup the whole system fresh imo (meant afaik :)
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2009
  5. Lampmaster

Lampmaster New Member

Thanks Received:
    I was planning on doing that anyways, so that'd be alright
  6. Meow9000 New Member

Thanks Received:
    RAID0! Do it...
  7. Lampmaster

Lampmaster New Member

Thanks Received:
    Alright, thanks guys. Looks like I'm going RAID0
  8. _Zod_ New Member

Thanks Received:
    Raid 0 isn't a true raid and you should be aware that you are more likely to lose data on a raid 0 setup than on just a single drive alone.
  9. jmcslob

Thanks Received:
    I would suggest you do a partition for an OS ISO backup...(Recovery Partition)
    I have 2 wd 500ALLS hd's in Raid0 with 400gb from each drive for 799gb as my primary partition (raid array1) and 100gb from each drive for a second partition at 199gb(raid array2)