1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raid0 Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Charper2013, May 24, 2009.

  1. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Im getting a new WD Caviar 320gb Drive..AAKS... I ahve a WD 320gb Caviar Now... But its not that number.. Can I raid0 them...?
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Usually, yes. Though it really depends on your RAID controller, most modern controllers will allow mixed drives. However, the array will be limitted by the slowest drive.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Will my motherboard be able to raid them W/O one?
     
  4. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    What do you mean by limited?
     
  5. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    As long as their the same RPM and cache size you won't have a problem. If their both 320gigs then you will be able to fully partion both drives. If one drive is larger then you'll only be able to partion it to the capacity of your smallest drive and then you can partion the remaining space and use it as storage or what ever.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page