1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ram: 8x2 vs 4x4

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xxdozer322, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    I dont know much about ram, but I have Gskill Ripjaws (ddr3-1600 cl9-9-9-24) in my system right now 4sticks at 4gigs a piece. I came up on a brand new set of Ballistix Sports 2 sticks at 8gigs a piece (ddr 3-1600 cl9) now witch set up would be better to run? or are they both basically the same?
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Not likely to notice any difference, but you should opt for the 2x8gb kit so upgrading to 32GB down the road is easy.
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    2 sticks is good. but 4 sticks looks better :D
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,607 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Oregon
    two is easier on the memory controller
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  5. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    ^ I read that somewhere, thus the reason i wanna put the ballistix in, but the ripjaws are damn sexy...im torn. function over form?
  6. BbigTree New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    + 1 this!


    nope, even if your case is open, :rolleyes:
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    iirc the only cpu's that had an issue with 4 sticks of ram was the AMD Phenom's and the first stepping Phenom II and all it did was lower the latencies...all you had to do was ad .1v to the NB...I don't remember Intel ever having this issue....

    So like theonedub said it would only likely be a future upgrade issue....even then the likely hood of matching memory for future isn't good as the chips used get changed all the time...even on the same models if you can even find em.
    theonedub says thanks.
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    +1
  9. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    I do absolutely no type of editing, and these ballistix were practically given to me.So you guys put yourselves in my shoes, what would you do? throw in the brand new ballistix or just keep my ripjaws in there?
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,420 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    Do you overclock?
    I really don't see where you would benefit from switching to the ballistix...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    i prefer form.
  12. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    ^lol these ballistix are damn sexy thoooooo. ahhhhh but the red of these g skills just catches the eye through the window of my hafx..
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    i think you heart has already made the choice.
  14. Unholywar

    Unholywar

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    i agree but you are more likely to do a complete rebuild with new spec stuff before you need 32GB
  15. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    lol modding a pc is like modding a car, I was at a point where i didnt know what coilovers i wanted.

    what company is better? Crucial or Gskill?
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You just named my two current favorite DRAM vendors. :laugh:
    Both will give you a good product.

    I've been debating this for one of my AMD rigs.
    Crucial Ballistix Tactical 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin D...
    There is a nice 2x8GB of these too.
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    So you already have both sets? Use the Ballistix. They're identical in speed, timings, and altogether size. Having two sticks of memory instead of four should reduce the load on your memory controller and you will be drawing slightly less power. Certain things may run slightly cooler because of the decreased load—both electrical load and computational load. Because of these benefits, overclocking should be easier, and you should be able to hit a higher max clock.
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    damn! ram prices there is low! i had to buy corsair vengeance at cl9 for the same money!
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  19. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    The problem with 8GB sticks (basically the bigger the GB the bigger the problem) is that its harder to get low CAS values with high Mhz. Since you are aiming for a 1600Mhz CAS9 model, and both the 4GB and 8GB sticks u mention have same speed and timings, there is absolutely no difference in performance. In addition 2 sticks is better than 4 for the controller, as others said.
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  20. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    yes i have both sets

    i have these in my computer
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3...

    and I came up on these yesterday
    Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR...

    i have yet to learn how to OC ram -_-
  21. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I have the sports, no flashing lights or twirly bits but they do the job, I think 2x8Gb will last you a good few years, you will probably upgrade to faster RAM rather than more RAM before you go to 32Gb

    This is off techradar about them,

    Clock-happy

    Just like the Tactical LP modules these wee Sport VLP modules are fairly sprightly at their stock settings, but also remarkably compliant when it comes to overclocking. Keeping the default timings and voltage and just changing the speed in the motherboard BIOS options to 1,866MHz resulted in a non-booting board, but a slacking off of the latency settings to 11-11-11-28 1T (still at the stock 1.35v) got the memory running rock solid at 1,866MHz.

    Keeping the same CAS11 settings but altering the speed to 2,133MHz caused the motherboard, again, not to boot, but increasing the voltage to 1.6V got us to a rock solid (even when being pushed hard in the benchmark tests) 2,133MHz.

    No matter what we tried to get a bit more out of our review modules, 2,133MHz remained the fastest stable speed we could achieve, but as with all things memory related, you might get lucky and find modules that turn out to be a bit more obliging.

    Benchmarks

    Memory bandwidth performance
    Sisoft Sandra: Gigabytes per second: Higher is better
    SPORT VLP @ 1,600MHZ (1.35V): 21
    TACTICAL LP @ 1,600MHZ (1.35V): 21
    SPORT VLP @ 2,133MHZ (1.60V): 26
    TACTICAL LP @ 2,133MHZ (1.5V): 28

    Video encoding performance
    x264: Frames per second: Higher is better
    SPORT VLP @ 1,600MHZ (1.35V): 40.44
    TACTICAL LP @ 1,600MHZ (1.35V): 40.34
    SPORT VLP @ 2,133MHZ (1.60V): 40.50
    TACTICAL LP @ 2,133MHZ (1.5V): 40.52

    Gaming performance
    Batman: AC: Frames per second: Higher is better
    SPORT VLP @ 1,600MHZ (1.35V): 123
    TACTICAL LP @ 1,600MHZ (1.35V): 123
    SPORT VLP @ 2,133MHZ (1.60V): 125
    TACTICAL LP @ 2,133MHZ (1.5V): 126

    The fact these modules work so well with tiny heatsinks - even when being overclocked - confirms our general feelings that all those lower speed modules with their large flashy heatsinks, are more to do with catching the attention of your wallet rather than any real cooling function.

    Still, the overclocking prowess of these sticks is not really the point. The low latency settings, decent performance and incredible size make this a rather desirable little set. Low-profile, low latency and low voltage - that's quite a combo, and the added versatility offered via the overclocking makes the Sport VLP a great prospect.
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  22. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,124 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    If I recall, usually heatsinks are detrimental to RAM, or at least that used to be the case. So the size of the Sports heatsinks has minimal effect. I would say they probably just take the cream of the crop for the tactical line and use the "lesser" sticks as the sport line.
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,318 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,343
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Socket 939 Athlons/Opterons would run DDR400 with two sticks and DDR333 with four sticks. You had to overclock it to squeeze DDR400 out of four sticks.

    Always use the highest densities avilable unless the motherboard can't support it. It should be cheaper anyway.
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    Thread purged of posts not pertaining to the OP. Next time, try taking the advice of the moderator comments instead of trying to fight the system all the time.
  25. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    Is corsair not the best ram around anymore?? god damnit! as soon as i jump on the trend seems to fade ¬.¬

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page