1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAM for Sandy Bridge

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Hawkster13, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. Hawkster13

    Hawkster13

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    105 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Hi all,

    I will be upgrading my current system to an Intel 2600k sandy bridge real soon.

    I will be overclocking the new system and would like to know which ram I should buy for the best overclock/performance.

    Should I go for a 8GB DD3 2000 with CAS 9 or would a 8GB DDR3 1600 with CAS 7 be the smarter buy.

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Manhattan
    How big is the price gap?
     
  3. Hawkster13

    Hawkster13

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    105 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    FL, USA
  4. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'd say get the 2000MHz since you're likely to be able to use it to it's full extent with SandyBridge.
     
    Hawkster13 says thanks.
  5. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    Google Gskill RipjawX. There is a 2300 kit that someone got running at 6-10-6
     
    Hawkster13 says thanks.
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    their JDEC 6-10-6 at 1600. at their rated speeds their bumped to 9
     
    Hawkster13 says thanks.
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    I saw them on facebook, but the link wont transfer here. Coolaler had them doing 2300 CAS6;) Might show in Gskills home page for facebook though.
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    right but coolaler isnt a JDEC standard he is a guy that will run them at jdec timings at 2300mhz with more voltage then id like to push 24/7. That tells me nothing about the rams performance on a home PC with a normal user who doesnt go through parts like a box of fruit loops.
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    OMG really? You act as if you have no idea what I am driving at here. Low latency at high speed is pure win, whats not to get?
     
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    im not saying it isnt capable. It obviously is. but at what voltage? does it need to be really high? because officially those timings arent programmed into the ram at those speeds it says it supports 6 at 1600mhz with anything over 2k going to 9-10-9 if you can manage 6 thats awesome. but what im getting at is if its at 1.9v that might not be a kit he wants.
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    Since you seem to have an issue with my recommendation, why don't you at least Google the correct kit.

    http://www.gskill.com/news.php?index=401 funny I don't see CAS9 2300MHz sticks, do you?:shadedshu
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    I didnt have an issue I had a question. No need to get offended so easy and try to pick a fight. You were right and i was wrong. I saw the 2133 kit with an XMP of 2300 at 9-10-9. If you want to get pushy though. You could have specified the kit you were talking about instead of the series considering their are quite a few models capable of 2300. all of which seem to have varied timings.
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    you should know by now sol, I wouldn't recommend ram to someone if I didn't see the full potential;) With your new knowledge and looking at the 6-10-6 timings I mentioned, your posting aside from the question was taken as a slam, like I wouldn't have done the homework first;) With the kit being only on paper, its sort of hard to like to the direct kit;) Either way its memory I would put in my build, even if I had to wait on it:D
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    My bad peet I didnt mean to come off as a dick I kinda asked my questions wrong. I get ya though. thnx for the clear up.
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  16. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    :toast:

    [​IMG]
     
    xbonez and Solaris17 say thanks.
  17. Hawkster13

    Hawkster13

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    105 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Thanks for the help guys. Much appreciated.
     
  18. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Curious as to what RAM u finally got?
     
  19. Hawkster13

    Hawkster13

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    105 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Frederik S says thanks.
  20. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    If you go to Newegg/Destkop Memory and search for Sandy Bridge, you get a whole line G.Skill ram that are all 1.5V and say they are designed for P67.

    I think this is the preferred ram voltage for P67, though you can use others.

    Apparently they're the only ones who were prepared with new models for Sandy Bridge.
     
  21. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I've seen nothing to tell me that there is a "preferred voltage" for Sandy Bridge. Any link that gives proof to that? The only thing Intel specs state is the "typical" voltage is 1.5, and that 1.575v is still within spec. That would tell me that 1.65v would most likely still be in relative safe range if needed to reach desired speeds. Anyone else with info on this?

    [​IMG]
     
  22. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Not sure that there is a big difference between preferred and typical. Just trying to add some info to the conversation.

    Apparently I'm incorrect. G.Skill kits range from 1.5 to 1.65.
     
  23. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Typical is for the masses oblivious to what the enthusiast does with hardware. Preferred is subjective, dependent on the intended use. :)
     
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    depends on the size of your grapes and if you can afford new hardware if things go belly up.

    Max on P55 is 1.65V, that doesn't keep me from running 1.8V 24/7 or others running even 2.0V+ on theses boards.

    With 1155 this hasn't been proven yet, but my guess would be that people reviewing these boards don't have "special memory" yet;)
     
  25. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Me thinks this is just the "green" trend and no one I know is buying into it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page