1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ram problem

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by roy cline, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    Phenom II's can't handle that speed of RAM and having 16gb's will make things even tougher. Your best bet is to run it at 1333mhz and increase the CPU/NB voltage a little.
     
    roy cline says thanks.
  3. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
    so what timings should i shoot for? and as far as cpu/nb what would you suggest. thanks for the speedy response.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    Let the timings run on auto for now. You may have to lower your overclock as well. First find what your CPU/NB is running for voltage at stock and raise it by .05. Before that, just try running the ram at 1333, AUTO timings and see if you have any issues.
     
    roy cline says thanks.
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,981 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    first try it like erocker said try setting it manually and put it 1333mhz then check the stability
     
    roy cline says thanks.
  6. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
    the cpu is stock and and i will give it a shot. damn i hope this works..i appriciate you and tpu very much.. i will get back to you very soon.
     
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,104
    Location:
    Rochester area
    there is very little performance gain with ram running above 1866 .... less then 10% vrs 1600 .... you should beable to get the ram running stable at some ware between 1600 and 1866 ...
    as erocker says the phenoms II IMC is relatively weak
     
    roy cline says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page