1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ram question Voltage and OC

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Morgoth, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ok i have a question
    if i increas my ram voltage does it sable my oc more?
    my cpu is now at 1.700volt at 3600mhz not stable
    ram on 1.60channel ddr400 clocked to around 390 2.225volt
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    In short, it does.

    Long answer, if your overclocking your ram it helps stable out the ram overclock. Let's say you get freezes up after playing a game for 1hr (could be something else related but just for sakes and purposes) add a little bit of voltage you will probly have a 24/7 stable clock.
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    1.7VOLTS TO THE CPU???????????

    As I see you arent on water either. I think maybe temps could be playing an issue as to stability also at this voltage!!!!!
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ouch, I just noticed that sneeky. I wonder what temps he is getting. Although, I dunno he must be running his scythe at full speed 24/7.
  5. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,557 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    1.7 Volts on your CPU and youre using Air cooling!!! That is insain unless you are living way up north and have your system sitting outside the window in SUb zero temps AND burried under a snow drift...
  6. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    1.7VOLTS lol thats overkill for shure you,ll need more than water cooling with that much voltage.
  7. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    That P-4 should probably not be above 1.6 -1.75(Max OC with real good cooling).
    YES, the Ram (DDR) probably needs a bit more (2.0 to 2.6) or better depending on Ram and OC.(check your Ram specs).

    Maybe Up the Vdimm and Lower the Vcore.
  8. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    well i get maxium temp of 55c on full load
    i am still waiting for my last wc parts
    i allready have rads
    resovoir
    cpu block Fuzion D-tek :D
    nice 120x120 fan 3000rpm max :D
    and active ram cooling
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    So pretty much waiting on a pump then? Very interesting Morgoth. Nice temps btw for netburst.
  10. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    SwiftTech MCP655 1/2 Inch, 1200 Liter P/u, 24 Watt
    thx

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page