1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAM running slow?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by jaxxxon, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    Hi, I'm new to stuff like this so go easy on me :)

    I have 2 GB of DDR Ram PC3200 400Mhz and I'm wondering if something is wrong with my ram as the pictures show it isn't running as fast as it says. My motherboard does support 400Mhz.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
    Mussels says thanks.
  2. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    check your bios you might have check everything in the bios section i have almost the same prob my bios p5b-premium doesn't recognize properly my cellshock v2 800 and i can make through the epp2 option to go on 4.4.4.12 @2.1
     
  3. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    So what do I need to change in BIOS? I need step by step help sorry
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,155 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,429
    Can you please take screens of the SPD tab, one for each memory module.

    This will let us see exactly what ram you have, and help us give the best settings to use.

    (we know what its using now, we just need to know what to set it to)


    edit:

    according to your manual, you need to go into the bios (hit delete after first turning the PC on, and keep hitting it til the bios loads)

    Go into "CPU configuration" and look down for 'memory clock' - this one controls your ram speed, and would be on auto at default. One of the options will be "200MHz (400MHz DDR)" - that would solve your problem.

    Please give us the CPU-Z info first however, just to make sure your memory is in fact DDR 400.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008
  5. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    I've added slot 2 & motherboard pictures. thanks for replying :)
     
  6. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    no its 2 x 1GB and its now running at 200.9Mhz Is this safe? Everything seems stable to me :)
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,155 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,429
    754 is single channel only. dont worry about that. (939 was dual channel)

    He has 2x 1GB sticks of ram, which his motherboard manual says is the maximum it can take. Only two memory slots, 2GB max.

    You should be fine to go by my instructions above, and set the memory speed to 200 (400 DDR).
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Just to let you know you always x 2 on memory speeds.

    If you see it as 200Mhz then it's 400Mhz.
     
  9. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    Thanks for all your help guys, first time in the BIOS, wasn't so bad ;)
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,155 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,429
    200.9 is perfect.

    Enjoy :)

    edit: actually wanted to say thank you, for reading the forum rules and doing everything right. You gave us everything we needed to know and your problem was solved in minutes - this is a perfect example of how things should be done.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page