1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ram timings

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by madswimmer, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. madswimmer

    madswimmer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Hi i recently built a computer and went to check the ram in the bios because a reviewer had said timings were off. i check mines and they were at 9-9-9-24 instead of 8-8-8-24. I was going to change it until i realized there were numbers after the 24. what do these have to do with it? should i change these along with the others or just leave them?
  2. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Not enough information. However, you should realise that the timings are dependant on the frequency of the base clock being used, assuming you are talking about DDR3 ram. Usually your bios will automatically set those ram timings so that you don't have to worry about them.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    Just change the values from 9 to 8 and leave the rest on auto. Make sure it is running at the proper voltage too.
  4. madswimmer

    madswimmer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    so full timings r 9-9-9-24-5-33-10-4. just change the 9-9-9 to 8-8-8? also does this affect both sticks of ram? theres dram 1st and 2nd info but it seems 1st is more important info and 2nd is lesser as opposed to stick 1 and 2. anyone know?
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    just switch 999 to 888 the secondary timings are advanced settings and usually dont need to be touched unless you doing extreme overclocking or need that 1point in vantage. so just change 9-9-9 to 8-8-8 and leave the rest on auto or w/e it was before.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page