1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ram upgrade!!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Pehla, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i need some one who knows for sure(or his own expirience) is upgrade from ddr3 1333mhz to 1600mhz worth the money? i mean will i get at least 10-15 fps in gaming?? im talking about 4x2gb..
    well after i sel mine memory all i need to add is about 20€
    And i was thinking to change it to 2x4gb...,maybe later more 8gb upgrade!!
     
  2. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    na, you wont really see a huge diff between those speeds.
     
    Pehla says thanks.
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    im lucky, i got free HyperX 1600 from my father in-law to replace some Patriot Gamer 2 1333. Its not really worth the price difference tho if i were to buy it.
     
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,354 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Location:
    Oregon
    Save your money for a new CPU
     
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The only way you would see a jump in FPS was if you were bottlenecking on the RAM which is highly unlikely. I doubt you would see any difference in gaming at all.
     
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,069
    At least 10-15FPS more? No. Matter of fact is that your CPU is too weak. I suspect it holds back your card in some games. 4GB is enough for the majority of games out there with the exception of BF3 multiplayer. I am not familiar with AMD but you board can take a phenom II x4 and that's what I would suggest first.
     
    Pehla says thanks.
  7. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    231 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Belgium
  8. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    i got lucky too with the Hyper X blu, my best friend bought me some while it was on sale at frys. 30 bucks for 8 gigs...if you really wanna upgrade, wait for an awesome sale, Frys always has ram for dirt cheap...

    Might wanna look at microcenter for an AMD 965, i got mine for 110 brand new, i think they went down in price over at microcenter too.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  9. WarhammerTX

    WarhammerTX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    277 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Texas
    You need a new cpu bf3 loves quad processors the ram wont make hardly any difference I went from 1333 to 1600 and maybe gained 3 fps.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,851 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,458
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My Phenom II 940 was a very powerful CPU to be using DDR2. I actually found that on some games like Starcraft 2 that I was bottlenecking on memory speeds. I doubt that is the case with an Athlon though. 1333 could starve a SB, IVB (i5+ for both), Bulldozer, and maybe a PII X6 I would imagine.
     
    Pehla says thanks.
  11. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    thanx guys for reply but im sry i didnt mention that tomorow im moving to intel cpu and motherboard..
    i7 2600k and msi z68ma-ed55
    so i didnt mean that my memory is botleneck,i just wanted to know if moving to higher mem clocks gain some fps !! atm i know is cpu, i alrdy sold MB and CPU!
    but if i get 1866mhz downclock to 1600 and lower latencies would that improve speed???
     
  12. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    231 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Belgium
    There will be no noticeable difference in that case.
     
    Pehla says thanks.
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,851 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,458
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yes, but games aren't typically aren't a memory bandwidth bound bottleneck so you're not going to see massive improvements. I would imagine that anything over 1333, you won't see much improvement unless your over-clock your IMC. 2600mhz NB alone will boost your memory speed. If you had L3 cache, OCing the IMC would make that run faster too.
     
    Pehla says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page