1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAM Voltage Question - Corsair

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Sasqui, Oct 30, 2006.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,854 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I finally got to play around with new memory yesterday:

    2 GB total - Matched 1 GB Pair Corsair XMS2 DDR-800 C6400C4 (4-4-4-12 / 2.1v)

    Seems to work well... tried 3-3-3-10 2.1v at DDR-800 and 4-4-4-12 2.1v at DDR-996, stable. Haven't tried any higher.

    Question is what is considered "safe" to overvolt these chips?
     
  2. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,854 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Interesting, the Corsair data sheet says tested at 4-4-4-12 at 2.1v, but sure enough, the info in your link says 1.9v is what they test with, and max is 2.1v.

    Who's right? :banghead: I wonder if Corsair has accessible tech support :twitch:
     
  4. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Ask ram guy ;) i reckon they have tested it at 2.1v max
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    2.3v is likely fine.
     
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,854 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Another gripe about the P5B Deluxe was that when you set stuff to "Auto" - it does not tell what the Auto (or default) value is. Voltages in particular... CPU, NB, VDIMM, etc. POS :mad: And that applies to "Manual" setting as well. For instance, I set my CPU to manual and it defaulted to 1.10v!!!

    When I was near the PC1000 mark at FSB 250 1:2, I used 2.1v and it was stable in prime95 at 5-5-5-12. It booted at 4-4-4-12, but I never tested it there.
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,854 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Just what I need - to sign up for another forum :) I sent them a note asking the question, but the RAM guy will probably be quicker.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page