1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ramdisk

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by NAVI_Z, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    ok folks whats the real story behind ramdisk and can it be used in a game server for home use. say 6 pc's all on a lan playing for instance Garry's Mod;Minecraft;Starcraft 2;CS:S;Red Alert;Civ V etc,etc?
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,099 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US
    I don't know if it is possible but i believe it is but if the if it's not demanding there's nothing really to gain.

    Only thing i used it for was for a game called Arma which used to run the domination\evo maps which have massive spawn ins and with it mostly being in ram it updated every ones system asap which with 20 people it stopped the little lock ups that people were getting from other setups..

    There is a link about on tpu which i thought was made by newtekie1.

    Here's what i did when i was using ram for better loading times
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=152930&highlight=ramdisk
     
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  3. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    thanx for the info. just lookin at some options for the near future when i get some more ram.:)
     
  4. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ramdisk takes its bigest advantage in large file readings and writings
    stuff like autocad, 3dsmax, photoshop, hammer, ect
     
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  5. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Ramdisks are a good idea for all sorts of reasons. Big discussion here: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107670

    Consider using a ramdisk on your games machine not just on the server. I'm sure you would have a better gaming experience. Remember to put TEMP files on the ramdisk
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page