1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random BSOD on a OCCT stable machine

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by LoneReaction, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    BSOD message:

    Running on vista 32bit SP1. What's going on here?
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Are you OCing anything?
     
  3. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Just the CPU.. E7200 from 2.5Ghz to 3.8Ghz. Memory not OCed :)

    The BSOD comes randomly, most of the time when I'm playing a game. I could be playing for hours without a problem, then it comes..
     
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    try increasing the CPU's voltage
     
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Also, how are your temps?
     
  6. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    happens when you not OC ?
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    could be this-

    The CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT bug check has a value of 0x00000101. This indicates that an expected clock interrupt on a secondary processor, in a multi-processor system, was not received within the allocated interval

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa469194.aspx

    I agree on the more vcore,whats it at now?
     
  8. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    When you play, are you assigning the games to only one core in taskmanager?
     
  9. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Nope.. I don't mess with such settings (are there even?) hehe.

    Vcore @ 1.36ishv from default 1.1ish

    The games don't even stress the CPU as much as orthos.. really strange.

    Room temperature about 30c
    Temps are 40-70c on load, but normal gaming usage max is around 60c. (measured with realtemp)

    I'll up the voltage 1 notch, but it will take me a few days to a week to find out if it solves the problem..
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Are they the Core temps or the CPU temp?

    i get the feeling your CPU is overheating so causing the BSOD
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    From what uncleweb has shown, I doubt the CPU is overheating, they can withstand temps over 100*C! Altho I will admit in the 60's is most stable!
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,036 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    its possibly the actual os fault or maybe a faulty motherboard liek the cpu socket could be broke
     
  13. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    "Core temperature" according to realtemp.

    I don't think it's overheating, cus I run orthos/occt on a hot afternoon (30c) for a few hours and not get BSOD, and yesterday I was playing GRID with the airconditioning on (about 25c) when the BSOD happened.

    I'll update you guys in a week if it happens again with the new voltage of 1.37v :)

    Edit: My computer froze after playing devil may cry 4 with 1.37v.. I'm sticking to 1.36v for CPU and increased the NB voltage by a notch.. to 1.47v
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2008
  14. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Bump, I think the problem is solved.

    I disabled EIST (and had to use 9x instead of 9.5 multiplier, resulting in 3.6Ghz), lowered the cpu volts to 1.3v because the lower clocked allowed me to, and I have not gotten random BSODs since. Even tested with my games, and when I slept, OCCT for 9 hours.

    Temps dropped to 40c to 64c too. =D

    Thanks guys!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page