1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random BSOD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Welshsteel, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. Welshsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've got a problem that i can't work out and need some help.

    THE PROBLEM - I have been getting about 1 BSOD a day for around 2 weeks now. The machine runs and is completely stable for hours. Call of duty 4 runs for 4 hours solid no probs, windows functions normally... then out of the blue the system BSOD's and closes down. On reboot the hard drive goes through an error check and reboots in to windows.

    SOLUTION 1 - In order to try and fix the problem i backed of my overclock completely to stock settings. I reinstalled windows and updated all drivers and then let it run. No joy. Still happens.

    SOLUTION 2 - completely removed my components and reinstalled them on a spare motherboard. The hard drive did the same error check and then booted fine in to windows. Ran memtest86 for 5 hours. Ran Ati artifact scanner 1 hour - no errors.

    SOLUTION 3 - As all the other components seem to function fine i bought a new Asus Rampage Formula - Fitted this this morning - thought the problem was solved but no it crashed on me 10 mins ago.

    Because each time it BSOD's windows carries out a error check on the hard drive my guess is that i need a new hard drive????

    Please help as i really don't want to waste more money
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I too think it is the hard drive if it has happened with so many different setups. You should write down the error it gives (if the blue screen stays there long enough) and google the problem, might get a better description.
  3. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    What are you using to power your hard drive? Old 4 Pin, or newer SATA connector? If you're using the old 4 Pin, you may want to use the newer SATA Power Connector (4 Pin makes them about as stable as a table with one leg missing) I've seen that as the main problem of the BSOD - Hard Drive Check a lot when I have to repair computers.


    EDIT:

    If there was a "Brown Out" or Power Surge in the past weeks, that could have done in your Hard Drive.

    EDIT 2:

    The 750 Watt PSU and overclocked 8800GT may also play a role in random BSODs.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2008
  4. Welshsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I am using a Sata power cable. The only other problems i have encountered is with fire fox - it occasionally shuts down.

    I have recorded the error and sent the report to Microsoft - there reply was completely useless - no help and no solution.

    Could it be the graphics card?
  5. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I don't think it's the graphics card, I would run to best buy and grab a HDD and install windows on that. f the problem still happens just return the old drive. They have a 30 day no-questions return policy. Staples has the same policy I think.
  6. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    um... first thing that springs to mind is your 3.8ghz Q6600 overclock...
    thats bound to cause some sort of instability.

    this BSOD... is this the same without your overclock settings active?
  7. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    It states in the first post that he reverted back to stock with no luck;)

    I would try another drive in it, the 30 day thing wouldn't hurt to try. It would at least narrow down the culprit:)
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    whoops, me bad ;)

    Maybe download speedfan... then run the diagnostics on the drive from within the program...
    It'll tell you the drives fitness level and how many re-allocated sectors are on it.

    It reads this from the smart info, so theres probably other ways of checking this, though if you dont know how installing speedfan is probably the easiest way of going about this ;)
  9. Welshsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    OK it just crashed and hunge at a blue screen when i tried to close windows down the error reads:

    ftdisk.sys - address BA77554B base at BA749000 date stamp 3b798419
  10. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    And that's fast for 2x2GB of RAM to be running at, but I have had no experience with Crucial sticks.
    But it's looking like your hard drive is the problem.
  11. Welshsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry i just noticed ... its meant to be 2 x 1gig ... and there rated at 1066Mhz so not really that much of an overclock....

    ANYWAY as the first post states all my settings are now at stock!
  12. Welshsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Can anyone crack this code the BSOD error message contained this:

    STOP: 0x00000024 (0x001902FE, 0xBACFBA7C, 0xBACFB778, 0xBA75554B)

    ftdisk.sys - address BA77554B base at BA749000 date stamp 3b798419


    I've done a Google but i can't find this specific code. 0X00000024 problems seem to be related to the NTFS storage system - so hard drive - i just want to be sure before i purchase:banghead: a new one.
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  14. Salvadorian Stuff

    Salvadorian Stuff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think your HDD its the problem, try with another hdd. I got that problem before and I solved taking off the sata power adapter of my master hdd and reemplazing for the regular ones (coming from the psu) sometimes the psu make a lot of that problems

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page