• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random BSOD's + Crashing/Freezing in EAX Games-X-fi Problem?

Thrall

It all started out when i started playing bf2 again on my e2180, p5nsli, 2gb, 8800gt 256mb, x-fi, w/ a 500w psu gaming rig started crashing randomly. At first i thought it was the oc'ing-set it to stock and no dif. Then i thought it might be gpu temps but even @ 100% fan it still crashed or froze. I'm getting ahead of myself-whenever i play a game (mostly eax games like prey + bf2 but hl2:ep2 does it also) it crashes randomly to a memory read error (0x00542910 @ location 0xfffff4) or just freezes. I then thought to update to sp3-which was a mistake and i eventually uninstalled it because i had network problems. Now i think it's my fatal1ty x-fi, so i updated drivers and even tried beta ones (which sound horrible imho) with no success. I'm not totally sure what else it could be, maybe the psu (it's a nice thermaltake tr2) not having enough power during some parts in gaming, the x-fi just dying, or maybe the mobo from just being hot all the time (i have good airflow but it still runs a little hot-exact temps i'm not sure). I'd be happy to answer questions to help fix this annoying problem! Thanks for your help in advance!

KBD

Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
First, i think this belongs in the hardware section.