1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random crashes, one screen turns geen with lines, the other white

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sir B. Fannybottom, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,861 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    I've been getting random crashes on my desktop (it's the system listed as sexy vanilla freshness in my specs). The crashes only seem to be when I've been running a program that is not super heavy load, for an extended period of time (Like a skype call, or minecraft). I thought it was my videocard, so I decided to reset the overclock, and update the drivers, and this has not helped. However when I did upgrade the drivers the colours that are displayed on my screen when it crashes has changed, it used to look like this, and now looks like this. has anyone had any experience with this? If so how have you solved this?
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,701 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,307
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    its freezing when the screen turned to green?
    and its periodically? like every 15 minutes?
    check your card temp first
    have you tested your card?
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    That's exactly like what my 5870 did while running stock (factory overclocked) BIOS. I had to underclock the card to AMD reference clocks to make it stop doing that. After the card was outside of warranty, I flashed the VBIOS to a reference 5870 and haven't had any problems since.


    Edit: FYI, when mine did the vertical stripes like that, sometimes it would briefly come out of it for a few seconds and do it again. I found that very odd.

    Edit: I also recall it not happening in every game or even most games. I do remember The Sims 3 making it happen frequently though.
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,497
    I would try doing a clean installation of the drivers. A deep cleaning if you will. I would also reset ALL my OC to default and see how it goes after that. I would definitely think its your GPU. Also do you your iGPU disabled?
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  5. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,861 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    I said fuck it, and reinstalled windows. It seems to have worked, I haven't had much time to test it out yet though.
    Arjai says thanks.
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,497
    That's ma boy.:toast:
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I didn't reinstall Windows but I went through lots of drivers and none changed it. It will likely happen again because it is a hardware fault, not a software fault.

    A temporary solution is to use AMD Overdrive to underclock the card (especially memory).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,861 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    never underclock, never look back.
    Arjai says thanks.
  9. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,861 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    Well, it happened again! Except now one screen is grey with white lines, and the other pure white. I think I'm going to have to RMA my card
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I RMA'd my card twice and both times, they gave me back a different card with the same crappy BIOS. :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Magic 65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    14 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Looks like buggy video card.
    Win7 wild nature video playing crashes on cards like this, try to play it 1 hour or little more.
    I saw many buggy cards with this bug (it was PowerColor's 6790, 6850, 6870).
  12. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Personally i thibk its dodgy RAM on your GPU and you're better of just RMAing your card seeing as it's within warranty.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page