1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

random freezes

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Mattgal, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. Mattgal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Malta
    I have been experiencing some problems since I changed my thermal paste.



    When I boot up, Windows starts loading as usual although it takes a little while. Then it freezes, blue screen and restart. then it boots ok.



    BUT sometimes it boot ok but freezes randomly for...30sec every minute or 2 like it is doing now.

    So far I checked cables and that there is not too much paste. Removed a RAM chip from the PC too.

    pls help
     
  2. DreamSeller Guest

    checked the temps ? maybe the heatsink isn't set correctly...
     
  3. Mattgal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Malta
    yes checked twice. temps are 36*C
     
  4. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    Stress the cpu, and monitor the temps as you do it, when booting the system it obviously use's the cpu under full load or there abouts, so you say the temps are at 36 and i assume thats at idle.
     
  5. Mattgal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Malta
    using Intel Burntest v2.2 it went up to 48*C after 5 loops
     
  6. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    how long was it being stressed for?

    you didnt notice any freeze's whilst doing the test?

    you might want to check the cable's to the HDD, take them out, clean them, blow them, or use a clean/new paint brush to dust the connectors.
     
  7. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    how old is your psu?
     
  8. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    you may have a point there.. but i have a psu whats over 10year old in one of my spare rigs what my little brother uses... works like a charm :p
     
  9. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    that sounds like good brand,or luck with buying generic brands

    the possibility of psu failure is still there, it will get worser when such an error is present,tho
     
  10. Mattgal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Malta
    i have increased the FSB and reduced the RAM ratio and guess what, not even 1sec freeze. you think its the ram was undervolted?
     
  11. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    hmmm, not really, considering you was using your rig just fine before...
     
  12. Mattgal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Malta
    well.. i can't really find any more "excuses" why this is happening other than that.
     
  13. mc-dexter

    mc-dexter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    England
    well either way its good to know thats another system up & running as it should be lol.
     
  14. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Probably a hard disk crash. Have you tried removing your hard disk and plugging it into another computer? If it prompts to format, try scan disk. If not a fresh format would be needed.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page