1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random Restarts, No BSOD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Midnite8, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. Midnite8

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    bay area 408/510
    Hey guys, I've been having this problem for a couple of months now, my computer restarts randomly not even under load. I have done Prime95 tests and RAM tests, all are ok. I have unchecked Automatically Restart in Startup and Recovery/ System Failure but I still do not get any BSODs. Only thing I see is when I go in to Event Viewer, same error, Event ID 41 Kernel Power. Could it be that I have too many things plugged in? I have 2 power strips all with something plugged in to just 1 wall outlet.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  2. Frenzic

    Frenzic

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    75 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    England UK
    Hi. I'm not sure about the power thing but i know my mate had the same problem just restart out of the blue and i asked him if he cleaned his pc out recently and he said no, so we took side off and cleaned it all out (covered in dust) and hey presto problem solved. Is yours clean inside?
  3. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
  4. Midnite8

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    bay area 408/510
    I cleaned it last month, very clean inside. I downloaded that but did not see and reports.
    Binge says thanks.
  5. Frenzic

    Frenzic

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    75 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    England UK
    I'm not sure then, i dunno maybe psu? anyhoo i hope you get it sorted. :)
  6. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    what power supply are you using? i had an issue with a power supply a while ago where if i tapped the computer, even slightly, it restarted. i guess there was something loose inside the psu. otherwise, maybe get one of those battery back up system things. you might not have enough amperage on the line. how much load do you have on the fuse that the outlet is under?
  7. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Last one of those I had the NB was overheating.
  8. Midnite8

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    bay area 408/510
    I am using a Antec True Power 750, my computer is on a stand away from me and anything that can obstruct it. How would I check for NB overheat?
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Have you tried reseating your CPU?
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,402 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,134
    Reboot and hit F8 to get into the Windows Diagnostic Settings before Windows boots. Turn off "Automatic Restart on System Failure." This way we can completely rule out BSODs. Sometimes a PC will BSOD but the PC will restart so quickly that the BSOD is not even rendered.
  11. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    He mentioned that he had done that above. Also I provided a BSOD details app. There were no BSODs to report.
  12. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    It's probably your PSU. Most likely one of your 12v rails is out of spec and when it drops below the minimum voltage your rig reboots. I had a similar problem a year ago after installing a GTX 570 and I started experiencing restarts. I had an Ultra X3 1000W and the 12v rail was showing lots of ripple and was running pretty close to borderline minimum. Replaced it with a Seasonic X650.

    I also remember seeing Event ID 41 Kernel Power in the event viewer.

    Do you have access to another PSU of equivalent rating to swap in and test out?
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  13. Midnite8

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    bay area 408/510
    I do not have an extra PSU, should I try putting my gtx 560 on another slot?
  14. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Moving the card around wont do anything


    It sounds like the PSU is dunzo or can no longer handle the load.
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504

    Replace the Powersupply
  16. Midnite8

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    bay area 408/510
    Havn't gotten a restart yesterday or today either... hmmm.. I'll wait and see if I still to get one then will look into purchasing a new PSU.
    I plugged in my computer to the other power strip, maybe the one I was plugged into is too old and has problems?
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Its possible

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page