1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random Restarts - Windows 7-64 bit

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by snuffnchess, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an ASUS desktop, that at random intervals, will completely shutdown and restart.

    I get a message upon restart saying that Windows has recovered from a serious error.

    How do i figure out what is causing the crash and hopefully resolve it??
     
  2. Guitarrassdeamor

    Guitarrassdeamor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,029 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    NC
    Do you know what the errors are?
     
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Go to the event viewer and tell us the error right before the kernal power error. Should be within seconds of the last error.
     
  4. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,884 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    There are a couple of things to that come to mind
    Bad Sectors/dying hard disk - Scan disk
    Power supply shorting - make sure it is grounded

    Also, if you fill out your system specifications, it will give peeps a better idea
     
  5. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The computer restarted around 9:10 this morning... the errors that i see before it... are about 20 minutes prior... and related to quickbooks (accounting software used in the office). Jrust after the reboot, i see a few errors:

    1: The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.

    2: Session "Microsoft Security Client OOBE" stopped due to the following error: 0xC000000D

    3: The previous system shutdown at 9:09:43 AM on ‎11/‎29/‎2012 was unexpected.

    4: The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x00000124 (0x0000000000000000, 0xfffffa800aeaa8f8, 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\Minidump\112912-32120-01.dmp. Report Id: 112912-32120-01.

    5: A fatal hardware error has occurred.

    Component: AMD Northbridge
    Error Source: Machine Check Exception
    Error Type: HyperTransport Watchdog Timeout Error
    Processor ID: 0

    The details view of this entry contains further information.






    The wording of Number 5 scares me... but i have no clue what it means.....
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Have you updated your chipset drivers recently?
     
  7. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    not that i know of??

    The only updates that get done on the computer are "Windows Updates" And i have noticed that those updates have been donwloading... and attempt to install... but they have been failing.

    I wasnt too worried about that.... but now thinking maybe i should???
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Well GUESSING about that error IF its hardware its you mobo or your CPU. However it could very well be software. Can you do a clean install of the OS along with fresh drivers and such? If so try that first and see if that fixes your problem. Looks like you chipset drivers might have become corrupt. Why I dunno.

    Have you added any other hardware or downloaded anything that might not be legal?
     
  9. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    doing a fresh install is really not a possibility.... would lose a lot of info, time etc..... any other ideas around doing a fresh install??
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Well I would make a backup ASAP man. Other then that you can try updating your chipset drivers first. Also you can check the integrity of windows.

    System File Integrity Checker (SFC) - Protect Wind...
     
  11. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Where would i go to update my chipset driverS??
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Is it an OEM computer or did you build it yourself? Ya know it would help if you filled out your system specs.
     
  13. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i dont knwo where i go to fill in specs?

    It is an ASUS desktop that i purchased from best buy.
     
  14. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i ran the sfc, and it said that it "found corrupt files and successfully repaired them"

    I looked at the log file that it referred to, but it makes no sense to me...
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Its in your control panel. Whats the model number of the tower?

    Well see if that fixes your issue for now. In the meantime if you can post the log.
     
  16. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
  18. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it did not...
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Ok try and run Asus update. You should have made a restore disk man.
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,976 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,109
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Maybe 5% of people do. :roll:
     
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    I know. It bugs the hell out of me.
     
  22. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So at this point, do i basically just wait and see if it happens again???
     
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    At this point yes. Just wait. We might have fixed it with the integrity check.
     
  24. snuffnchess New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    okay thanks.

    Are there any recommendations that I can use for a fast and easy registry cleaner???
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,041 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,592
    Yeah DONT MESS WITH IT. Those things will tear a system up faster then a kick to the nuts.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page