1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random restarts

Discussion in 'General Software' started by pantherx12, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Ugn more rig problems TPU!

    Been getting random restarts since I changed back to my old HDD *( needed to run a repair on it)

    Seeing as that's the only difference I'm guessing its that, but can a HDD problem cause random restarts like that?

    I get no blue screen and no error reports when I get back to windows, its like I've done it myself, only it instantly goes to the booting up screen rather then shutting down as usual.

    Any ideas?

    Thinking it could be a virus/ or the HDD is really borked.


    If it does turn out to be HDD, anyone want to sell me one for cheap? :laugh:




    * Since my system crash a few weeks ago been running of a 80gb 2.5 harddrive rather then my maxtor 500gb
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  2. pjladyfox

    pjladyfox New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Okay, I know this may sound silly to ask but have you disabled the error reporting and auto-reboot feature in windows yet? This would account for the random reboot and why you are not seeing any indication that something is going on. If you've not disabled it here is how you would do so:

    1. Right Click on My Computer, either on your desktop or Start Menu, and go into Properties.

    2. Once there click on the Advanced tab (or go into Advanced System Settings then the Advanced tab) and under Startup and Recovery click Settings.

    3. Uncheck the Automatically restart function and disable the Write Debugging option.

    This should, hopefully, allow you to see the actual error that is triggering your reboot be it a blue screen error or otherwise.

    If you still get no error message, or already have these functions disabled, getting a DXDIAG of your system (and maybe a CPU-Z report if you can swing it) would help try and troubleshoot this further.
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Okay done that but no info came up, where can I find the system log?

    Also thinking this is a virus as explorer exe doesn't work correctly on bootup and I have to end the process then restart it to get the GUI up.

    Ontop of that my anti virus does not load automatically and neither do any other programs, running a virus scan now.


    *edit*Okay quickly got rid of two viruses I had by stopping the scan and attacking them straight away, they're now gone.

    Starting scan again to see if it finds anymore.
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Sorry for double post, but want to bump this due to fighing viruses being hardwork

    Managed to find logs by myself seems windows is restarting each time this happens

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Wininit
    Date: 10/03/2010 12:13:40 AM
    Event ID: 11
    Task Category: None
    Level: Warning
    Keywords:
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Joseph-PC
    Description:
    Custom dynamic link libraries are being loaded for every application. The system administrator should review the list of libraries to ensure they are related to trusted applications.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Wininit" Guid="{206F6DEA-D3C5-4D10-BC72-989F03C8B84B}" />
    <EventID>11</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x4000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-03-10T00:13:40.834062100Z" />
    <EventRecordID>69523</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="480" ThreadID="524" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Joseph-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="StringCount">1</Data>
    <Data Name="String">avgrssta.dll</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
  5. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Yes it can, especially using swapspace on a faulty sector.
    Did you run a health check?
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Hey not yet no any programs to recommend?

    Managed to fix the start up problems I mentioned by getting rid of viruses I had, but still having the restarts ( Much to my delight)

    I'm going to disable the page file on the main HDD then and set it up to be on the little laptop HDD for the mean time, see if that helps.
  7. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    HDtune?
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Cheers I'm actually useless when it comes to software and such like :laugh:
    :toast:


    No bad sectors on the HDD : [
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  9. pjladyfox

    pjladyfox New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    I was originally thinking it was something else, like maybe RAM or a virus, but it seems that you have eliminated both of those. The only thing really left right now is the HDD being the root cause of the issue since everything started once you installed it.

    As others have mentioned already a faulty HDD, either due to a bad sector on the platter or a failing controller, could cause the random rebooting issues you are suffering from. Now while HDtune did not report any faulty sectors it still does not eliminate a faulty onboard controller which I've experienced first hand myself with one of the Seagate 750gb 10-series drives.

    Failing trying another drive, which it does not sound like you have, do you have a different SATA or EIDE drive cable that you can try? While it's rare for a cable to go south it does happen from time to time and it could mimic the issue that you are having.

    One thing I forgot to ask is did you check your RAM yet? If not go to http://memtest.org/, grab the tool, and see what the check has to say. If nothing else it would also help eliminate RAM as a cause as well.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page