1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raptr Game DVR (beta) now part of AMD's Gaming Evolved

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Frag Maniac, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    Hey guys, couldn't find a thread about this, so I made one. Raptr just released a beta version of "Game DVR", which is very much like ShadowPlay. It uses the VCE Block in AMD GPUs that have it to hardware encode your games in H264.

    I've tried it so far with Dead Space 3 and Far Cry 3. You have 15 sec to 10 min time limit on caching. You have 15, 30 and 60 FPS output options. It will do 1080p, but not sure if you can go higher. You can select from 10Mb up to 50MB bitrate.

    Please give it a try and use their feedback thread to help them bug fix and develop this tool.

    http://raptr.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43

    http://raptr.com/download

    Some nit pics I have...

    1. You can only add games that are listed in the Steam library. You don't HAVE to have gotten them through Steam, it just seems to use their library as reference.

    2. The 10 minute cache limit is not enough. Needs to be at least 15, if not 20 like ShadowPlay.

    3. Some games will only output at 25 FPS when on 30 FPS mode.

    4. Start/Stop and Save keys can only be bound as Ctrl+ combos.

    5. Far Cry 3 won't capture in 1080p unless I set my desktop to that res.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm really excited to have this tool and it does a pretty decent job with good file sizes. It was getting to the point where the only games I'd record were race games that had a replay feature.
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,562 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Florida
    I'll give you an A+ for even using raptr. I can't stand that piece of shit.
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  3. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    LOL, I don't use it for the optimize or browse features. I only tried the capture feature last night, and that it does pretty well, except for the few things I mentioned.

    You have to look at this like a poor man's version of ShadowPlay, much like FreeSync has been compared to G-Sync. It's main purpose is the convenience of cached recording, which is new for AMD.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  4. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,237 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Only works on GCN gpus though. Otherwise I'd been all over this just to see how the DVR works out.
     
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Rochester area
    raptr is crap msi afterburner's recording is superior anyway its nearly as fast as shadowplay/VCE but works on all cards 5800 series and up unwinder is a better coder then japamd

    10/10 for having the balls to install that ad-ware infected pos
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
  6. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    Since it was described as a free alternative to Fraps with even less features when it debuted, I have a hard time buying it can even compare to what ShadowPlay and Game DVR were primarily designed for, which is continual gameplay caching with 10-20 min clips easily saved while playing, vs having to have a capture program running eating up resources and/or drive space.

    Afterburner's capture feature was never more than a free alternative to Fraps for those too cheap or uncommitted to buy a decent capture program, and in software recording type tools, DxTory is WAY better. Like I said though, it doesn't even compare to Game DVR because it can't access the hardware built into the chip to do hardware encoding or gameplay caching.

    And jeez, what part of don't have to use the browser feature don't you get? There are several settings that don't even allow it to connect if you disable them. Seriously, the ad-ware mumbo jumbo gets tossed around a lot. Even Steam uses advertising. You're clearly talking more out of speculation than experience.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
    AsRock says thanks.
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Rochester area
    he completely rewrote it a few versions ago I tested it its nearly loss-less performance wise hardware encoding is over-rated VCE is a terrible idea
     
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Rochester area
    ahh here is the refrence
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4672886&postcount=137
    and here
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=382760
    i used prerecording and h264 crf 20 and recorded a 30m 900p session and the output file was ~!400mb
    he later added quicksync support so its basically completely loss-less performance wise
    A for effort raptr but you can still burn in hell for ruining radeon pro

    and the fact that the "browser" option even exists automatically gets it shitlisted simply because its a insecure pile of poo
    latest ab release http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=390036
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  9. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    Ah, OK, well, I was unaware they'd started cached recording with AB, and since it equals the 10 min limit of Game DVR, I can't say the cache limit is any worse. However, you made claims to superiority, and that's where I think you've yet to prove anything.

    1. Compatibility

    AB's cached recording only works with QuickSync, an Intel CPU feature obviously only found in Intel CPUs, and of SB or later design.

    2. Quality

    QuickSync is designed to prioritize speed over recording quality, as is obvious by the duration to file size ratio you gave.

    "Quick Sync, like other hardware accelerated video encoding technologies, gives lower quality results than with CPU only encoders. Speed is prioritized over quality"

    Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Quick_Sync_Video

    That said, I'd have to actually compare Game DVR clips to AB clips to be sure, but since AB obviously has limited support, I can't even do that with my i7 950 CPU. I noticed after such a bold claim though you didn't bother linking to any such comparisons, or even one of your own clips.

    And there are "nearly lossless" SOFTWARE encoders now, I expect better from a hardware encoder. ShadowPlay and Game DVR ARE lossless. And lossless isn't really the way to describe performance in a capture device, it's typically used for describing video quality in codecs. Saying nearly lag free would have been more appropriate. Such things make me wonder how avid or knowledgeable you really are at capture and encoding.
     
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Rochester area
    fine ill throw up a clip or something
    the cache pre recording is universal and its what makes shadow play fast because its basicly a direct read back buffer from vram to the encoder
     
  11. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,871 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    933
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratpr works dude...Adware is everywhere and will be for the foreseeable future only getting worse. They do not harm Raptr's experience which works fine...for what it is.

    Props to free things getting added to the feature set, I have not tried it yet but I normally just use Fraps for video recording.
     
  12. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    461 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    I kinda like raptr myself.

    im not a fan of the browser, it crashes a lot, steam browser is better.

    But, raptr has a robust community and free stuff.
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Rochester area
    after burner supports the following encode modes
    VCE
    QUICKSYNC
    X264VFW
    uncompressed
    external plugins
    prerecord works like this
    start the pre record buffer(you can set any buffer size you want so long as you have ram/diskspace)
    when you either fill the buffer or wanna write a video hit the video capture hotkey and the prerecorded data is merged into the video stream from there VCE or quicksync or your custom encode plugin takes over (my phenom II rig doesn't support vce or quicksync but opencl look ahead via a custom encode plugin does work nicely)

    raptr is just another facebook/steam wanna-be they wanna exploit the whole "casual social gaming market " that has no place on any of my systems the "Optimisasion" is less than useless and the core program has 4 year old bugs they still haven't fixed because they are to busy cramming "offers" into the app
    AB does exactly what it says on the BOX nothing more
     
  14. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    Hmmm, AB prerecord capture supports VCE? It's still only 10 min cache though right? And if I use VCE shouldn't it use VRAM like you said previously with shadowplay, instead of RAM or disk space? I really don't get why you're even calling it "shadowplay" when AB calls it prerecording. Kinda mixing corporate buzz words there.

    Has the author ever got up off his stubborn refusal to actually make the settings GUI fit a modern widescreen display? I recall many frustrations having to always reset my Taskbar to the right edge vs bottom every time I wanted to change something in that damn GUI because the bottom end of it hung down underneath the Taskbar. And people were just saying deal with it and reset your Taskbar. I mean, seriously? :rolleyes:

    Other than that, I thought I made it clear I only tried using Raptr for the Game DVR feature, and it says so right in the friggin thread title! What part of that don't you guys get?

    That said, I've tried, believe me I've tried, to tell their support staff to give up on the obsession with "optimizing" and just focus on the DVR. Even THEY admit it's at best a tool for noobs and that they don't use it. I told them it's not even good for noobs because it teaches them bad habits.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
  15. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    If you want a software capture program you should try DxTory. It's WAY more full featured than Fraps.

    1. Can select various output resolutions.
    2. Can write with multiple drives simultaneously to avoid lag
    3. Can record two audio streams (mic/game) that can be separately edited
    4. Has built-in tools like frame rate cap, AVI Mux, drive speed bench, cropping, etc
    5. Can be used with a wide range of codecs

    About the only thing I use Fraps for anymore is it's FPS meter while testing game settings, and only because it uses slightly less RAM than DxTory to do that.
     
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,237 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    1) What do you record to (ssd or disk drive)?
    2) Are you prerecording to Ram or file?

    I'll trying using VCE for video capture. I had not tried that yet and was using just the basic default video capture settings. I've been having problems getting the prerecord and record to respond to the hot key commands though recently.
     
  17. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    I've been using Afterburner a bit with both Lagarith and VCE. Really sucks IMO. Prerecord is nothing at all like the caching ShadowPlay or Game DVR does because you have to always manually employ it BEFORE your session and it's constantly putting something on your drive to draw from while it's buffering. ShadowPlay and Game DVR automatically keep it in cache and just write a dump file instantly, so you can deploy it AFTER playing a session you decide you want to record.

    But that's not the worst of it. I'm getting HUGE FPS drops in Far Cry 3, like half or less. It drops from about 70 FPS to 25-30, and that's whether it's buffering or manually recording, and the performance is no better with VCE vs Lagarith.

    Next I'll try VCE with DxTory. That's right, you can now DL the open source openEncodeVfw codec, and after running it's Bat file it shows as a VCE codec in DxTory. I don't think DxTory has caching like ShadowPlay or game DVR. That might be something Nvidia and AMD have given exclusive access to ShadowPlay and Game DVR. I'm willing to bet though that DxTory yields better performance via manually recording with it though. Hell, I got better performance in DxTory back when I tried the Lagarith codec with it. Had to use the secondary partition of my SSD, but much better than Afterburner. And I DID try Afterburner with my SSD too.

    Ideally I want to get adequate performance and video quality on my WD Black 1TB via VCE, but I'd prefer it be with caching vs manual recording. I don't really see "prerecording" as any better than manual. Worse actually because you're taking two steps to do the same thing and with worse performance. Unless Raptr gets Game DVR working better though, I'm still planning to go high end Maxwell, likely an 880.

    So despite all the trash talk, with Game DVR Raptr IS trying to offer something useful, and I think they deserve some patience while trying to sort it out.
     
  18. GodsmakK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can't seem to get the DVR to work at all. I have the directory set, the hotkeys set. I've used Shadowplay just fine on my other Nvidia Card, but with my new R9 270x it just flat out won't record, replays as well. Any idea if it's because the game I am playing is not 'detected'? I'm playing Darkfall Unholy Wars (not through steam). Any feedback would be appreciated with this as it would be cool to get this to work. thanks
     
  19. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    461 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    it requires the game to be in steam i believe
     
  20. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    You don't have to have gotten the game through Steam, it just has to be a game listed on Steam. Activate the drop down box where it shows the list of games, then follow it's browse feature to find where it is on your drive. Some titles require searching for a launcher.exe, then a game title exe, but it doesn't have to be installed via Steam. I have added several games that I don't have through Steam this way. For instance I got Far Cry 3 solely thru Uplay, but it had no problem detecting it.

    Also, once you have your games added into the library, make SURE all pages of the settings GUI show the Start/Stop and Save Replay bindings the same. I had an issue where the Hotkey page listed the bindings differently from the page where you adjust the DVR settings.
     
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Rochester area
    considering the raptr's game dvr model is directly ripped from afterburner I find your claims dubious the game DVR is a direct re-implementation of "Radeon pro infinitys" pre-buffering witch is based on unwinders work
    use this config
    pre record to ram set the highest buffer size you can manage the only time limitation is how much free ram you have

    you can use OpenEncode with AB just select it from the plugins list provided its installed

    the hotkey's not working most likely have todo with uplay or origin messing with stuff I know for a fact that origin screws with any global hotkeys you might have
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
  22. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    "Dubious"? I've used both, have you? Until you have I can only call your assessment blatant speculation at best. I also tend to read up on the details of any capture tool before using it, along with any tooltips. I'm well aware AB uses either RAM or drive space, but last night's results in Far Cry 3 were a solid indicator it does not do so very efficiently. And I never play FC3 with Uplay in online mode or with the overlay on.

    AB's method draws heavy resources via RAM or drive writing no matter which method is used. The only exception would be if you're just setting tiny RAM and drive buffer space for micro size videos. Most people still only have 8GB RAM, which is plenty for gaming, but not really adequate for AB capture of any significant size videos.

    And here's the thing, even IF it performed as efficiently, it's still not as convenient a tool. You still can't just play impulsively and then activate it afterward. You have to set it to buffer BEFORE playing and then set it to retrieve the buffer afterward IF you want to make use of all that resource hogging it just did. Prerecording is a two step process, making it even less convenient than typical manual start/stop recording.

    So your claim of Game DVR being ripped from AB is hard to buy since AB cannot really even do the type of caching ShadowPlay and Game DVR can. I'm sure Game DVR uses the same caching method as ShadowPlay, but it IS clearly different from AB's method. Nvidia have tons of money to throw at features such as this. You really think if AB is better they wouldn't use the same type method?

    Dubious my arse!
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
    GhostRyder says thanks.
  23. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    461 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    also, since no one has seen RP Infinity other than John, the creator, i dont see how you could possibly comment on its functionality other than pure speculation based on John's decription of Infinity's planned functions.
     
  24. gerardfraser

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Did some actual benchmarks with DVR on/off.No real difference in FPS.Great tool
    [​IMG]
     
  25. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    ^^Nice benches. I just hope they'll increase the time limit on length of replays cached. I can't really ding them for the problems I had with Far Cry 3, because it's not only a poorly coded game, I have the Uplay download version, and UPlay really sucks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page