1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raspberry Pi Thread

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Deadlyraver, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi

    Not really, it uses a 700mhz ARM11 SoC with a gpu that can decode video. Most programs need to be converted to work on ARM anyway tho.
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    KieranD says thanks.
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Can't get one as the element14 site is just not loading when you go to preorder. Farnell must be out of pre orders as it just says register your interest, doesn't actually let you pay for one.
    Apparently people just kept trying at random times later and eventually got through.

    [​IMG]
  4. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,126 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    679
    There's a link to order one from the Element 14 site (which is where you go from the Farnell link), but it's in, I believe, Thai, and the RS Components site... dunno what's going on there. So much for "International distributers" Both Premier Farnell and RS Components have worldwide distribution networks, so wherever you are in the world, you will be able to buy from a local distributor. bah, humbug... will keep trying. It's not like it's life or death. I can wait.

    And don't really much like this from Farnell
    By providing your contact details you are agreeing for your details to be used for marketing purposes by companies within the Premier Farnell Group.
  5. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,879 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    ooohh.. this would make a brilliant media player to hook up to my TV and watch movies over the network. Would there be any way to make it wi-fi capable?
  6. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,126 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    679
    It's got USB ports, and runs on Debian, so should be able to add a wireless if you desire.

    That's actually, exactly what I'm going to do with mine :)
    silkstone says thanks.
  7. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    173 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    it has wifi and bluetooth in the arm chip, so its ready to go

    edit

    scratch that, i remember reading about it a long time ago and didn't know that was one of the features that didn't make it...so nevermind, usb dongle and you are good
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Pre ordering one, got sent an email to pre order because i registered my interest. The first batch is sold out so i wonder when the next batch will be ready?
    £29.46 inc postage

    Ah okay just waiting for a date now for next batch.
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Bumping this thread as my Pi status was changed to "shipped", i am excited. I dont expect something extra ordinary but something fun to mess around with, after all it was only designed for teaching and learning programming.
    As far as im aware you power it via a mobile phone charger, some sort of small derivative of USB is on the PCB to power it. Ive ordered a 32gb SD card class 10 to use with it which should be more than ample for a few programs.
  10. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    106 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Mine should be with me in 3 weeks according to RS

    Delivery Type Desc Standard Delivery (Despatch expected within 3 week(s))

    fun fun fun.....
  11. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,475 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Cool:)
    Give us some details when you can.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    No problem, i will post up some pics and let you know what OS i go with. Right now im just going to go bare without a case but eventually i might make one out of a plastic tub or something. Im going to use my main mouse/kb, no point really buying another set just for that. I could get a small kenyless keyboard and wireless mouse but idk if i would need that.

    I bought mine from Fanrell (element14).
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,172 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Honestly, I had RaspberryPi ordered from Newark Element14 but it has been months and they said I have to wait until the end of July, which is 4 months after I ordered it. I complained to them to stop allowing new users to order the damn thing until they actually ship the ones to the people who already ordered them.

    Honestly, they suck at handling a backlog and I will have to think long and hard before I recommend or use Newark Element14 again. :mad:
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I dont understand the backlog as they are making to demand. Maybe they simply cant make em fast enough?
  15. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,716 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I ordered mine the day they went on sale. Farnell took my money and said I'd have it by the end of april. But there was delay after delay and now they say it's the end of this month, which is a week from now.
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    I want one so bad.
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Log into the Farnell webstie and see if they changed your status on the order, mine was shipping and now its complete so i guess that means mine is coming any day. Its really crap of them just leaving customers for months wondering wtf is happening with their order.

    I guess more people than expect ended up ordering and they cant produce them to demand fast enough, hence the backlog.
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,172 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That doesn't mean that that backlog should get infinitely bigger. Nothing angers me more when they are selling a product that you can purchase that hasn't even been shipped to the majority of people who had ordered it over the last 3 months. They definitely underestimated the interest in this.
  19. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,716 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Yours has shipped? Mine says back order... -_-

    I paid for it on the 4th march for crying out loud.
  20. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,126 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    679
    Same here :)

    Yeah, I ordered mine when they said anticipated ship date of end of May, but then they bumped it to August, so I cancelled it.
  21. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Got mine on Thursday the 24th, been playing with it since then:)
  22. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Well i got mine yesterday (Saturday). I didn't open it till today so ive been trying to install Arch Linux Arm with LXDE, i swear to fuck i followed the instructions perfectly so i have no idea why it wont work. Something about not finding a directory or something missing. Im about to format and reinstall, update and download LXDE again.

    It should be just a case of using pacman to install it.

    Pics when i get it working with a desktop manager.
  23. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I have run the Arch Linux Arm, but I have not tried to install LXDE on it. I have been using the Debian “squeeze” with no problems at all. You have to use the tools to write the sd cards or it will not work. Everything I have used is on this Page.
  24. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,009 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    No you dont understand, i cant get LXDE to install on Arch. I have Arch running but its just command line when it boots. Fuck it i will try Debian just to get something running.

    I used Win32DiskImager to write to the SD card.
  25. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Sorry for the misunderstanding, that is what i used, Carry On:)
    KieranD says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page