1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raspberry Pi Thread

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Deadlyraver, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,109 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Well Debian works but its a tad slow and the cpu seems to be taxed all the time. They dont have the FPU (floting point unit) working nor the graphics drivers are there yet. It works but things like when i open another tab in midouri it really slows down.

    What do i need to do to get sound working?
     
  2. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I did these steps=

    First of all, have you set a root user password yet? If not, go to step one, if you have, step two.

    Step One
    1) Logon to your pi as normal, open terminal and type:

    sudo passwd root


    2) Enter a password of your choice, just make sure you know it.
    3) Exit terminal and shutdown your pi.

    Step 2
    1) Turn on your pi, when it prompts you to login, type the username, root and the password as whatever you selected in step one.
    2) Enter the command startx to bring up the GUI.
    3) Open the file browser and go to the directory /etc/ and find the file 'modules' (You can do this quickly by just typing 'modu' in the etc folder
    4) Right click the file, Open with > Other > Leafpad > OK
    5) Create a new line beneath vchiq and type:

    snd_bcm2835


    6) Save the file, reboot, login as normal, it should work.

    Hope this helps!

    From this forum.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
    KieranD says thanks.
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,109 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    You can sudo passwd root but i find it easier to just use sudo su which makes your login act as root. I might make myself a script to automatically boot to desktop.

    Someone on the RPi forums made a script for the sound fix that you run in the terminal and it does everything for you, i also found out how to do it manually but its all working now. Im getting a little bit better at using the Pi. I also created a config.txt file to set the resolution and disable overscan. Right now im using my shitty built in speakers on my IPS monitor.

    I installed Chromium browser via the terminal, its a bit faster than Midouri. Also installed synaptic package manager.

    Debian is slower but it mainly works. Its slow but i found it usable, just dont open multiple programs at once lol.
     
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,109 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Bump for pics...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,198
    Grats :)
    Mine's not here yet, but looking with trepidation on what it's going to take to get it up and running :)
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Ok, Here is a pic of mine. Just so yall know I have one in hand to play with.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,316 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If only Newark Element14 would send me mine already. For crying out loud, I ordered it March 3rd. :confused:
     
  8. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Anybody get quake3 running? WITH SOUND?? Have not found a solution to no sound in Q3 yet. Any info would be appreciated. Sound in x and term work ok.
     
  9. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    My pi arrived, but I'm not able to get the included audio player to play anything but the included sample file. :\
     
  10. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Click on the + sign in the audio player to add a file or folder to play then click file that you want to play, then click play. Once I got the player to play the sample sound the non sample files played fine after adding them to the player list. Files work for other apps so far,(except quake3):)
     
  11. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Yeah, I tried that. It just removed it from the playlist when I tried to play it.
     
  12. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I have not had that problem, however, when you "add" it does not copy them to the sd card, it just lists them from the source, is the source plugged in?, Are the files on the sd card? On mine when the source is not plugged in, it still list them but it does not remove them from the list like you have described it just plays the only file it does find witch is the sample.. I would suggest posting the issue on the Raspberry-PI forums or searching it for similar issues.
     
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,109 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ive tried Debian Squeeze but its not that great, although it works and has some included programs.
     
  14. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Going to try Raspbian, it is said to be a little faster in X. Got my second pi today:)
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,316 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You have no idea how angry that statement makes me. RaspberryPi has been on back order for me since March 1st and I was just charged for it and it is still on back order. Buying this has been the most irritating experience with buying anything in my life. :banghead:

    If you bought it from Newark Element14, I'm going to rip them a new one.
     
    dank1983man420 says thanks.
  16. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I downloaded via the pi's web browser into my home directory. So it's on the same SD card as the OS.
     
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,150 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,625
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,316 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Afters month of backorder my Pi has been shipped. Should be here on Monday or Tuesday. I complained about it again and shortly thereafter they shipped it...
     
  19. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    still waiting for mine T.T too, can't wait, can't wait, can't wait .
     
  20. Kalevalen

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    sweet

    My Raspberry Pi's are here, time to jam :D
     
  21. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    And how's that going for ya?
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,316 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My RaspberryPi currently runs Debian Squeeze with Apache2, PostgreSQL 8.4, and PHP 5.3. USB storage is faster than the SD card though.
     
  23. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,198
    got mine got mine got mine :rockout:... now just gotta do something with it :) :roll:
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  24. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,109 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I've been using Raspbian "Pisces" image 2, hell of a lot faster than Debian Sqeeze. I haven't done anything on it yet either. Im waiting for acceleration, also Quake III doesnt have sound yet and there was a planned accelerated version of Open Transport Tycoon but ive heard bugger all about that.

    I'll probably try my hand at some Python or getting the Big Buck Bunny video to work.#

    Right now i guess its just a bit of a novelty.
     
  25. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,198
    I just want to set it up with a basic, fast OS, get a vid player and networking going, and let it be my Home Theater :)
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page