1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rate the System Above You!

Discussion in 'General Nonsense' started by numlock2.0, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    Its the normal one, *with* the PCS cooler. Kinda weird that.
    Why dont you like it? i think its a great design.
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That's a 9.9 system right there. Just needs a crossfire partner :D
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    9/10 you finally got that 7750BE up were it belongs :D
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I have to agree. The PCS cooler is far better than stock.

    10/10 for CD. DICE is nice. lol.
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    9/10 i dont like the ram haha
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Forgot to edit my specs. It's running at 1000Mhz 4-4-4-12 2.1V now.

    And if we are rating on what we like, you would've only gotten an 8/10 from me because of your Phenom. They're overrated.
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    they are but i got a 945ES so i'm happy :D and 4.9ghz on 4 cores is kinda nice
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, 4.9Ghz DICE runs are nice, but Intels do that too, and are faster per clock doing it. That's why I rated you on performance and OCing, not what I like. ;)
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    phenom II is same clock for clock with intel
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No it isn't. Not with Yorkfield 12MB or i7.

    EDIT: The exception being encoding.
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i7 is ahead but in wprime encoding and everything but super pi C2Q=phenom II. we had a huge arguement in the core i7 vs. phenom II thread. i pulled 3d benchmarks wprime etc and the phenom was as fast if not faster
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    At the same clock speeds, the same overall ram speeds (or as close as possible, anyway. I know the dividers are different), and only taking the cpu tests into account? Not from what I've seen. The 12MB Yorky scores higher in all cpu tests, aside from encoding (and maybe a few offhand benches), and the Core i7 outscores it everywhere.

    You can't look at framerates of a game to compare cpus. Once the cpu bottleneck is gone, the frames are purely based on the gfx card.

    Pick a speed, run Vantage's cpu tests only, and post the results, and I'll match your speeds and settings and do the same. No DICE runs tho. My board isn't set up for my pot yet.

    EDIT: In fact, I don't even have to go that far. Here is a Phenom at 3840Mhz: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=760742

    CPU score= 13095

    Here is mine at 3.6Ghz: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=666717

    CPU Score = 14518 with a 240Mhz clock disadvantage.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    10/10 want that rig.... yes, I do...
     
  14. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    6/10 it's a basic rig I'm sure it's nice for what you use it for.
     
  15. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    LOL, for now I only use it to do work :D I quit gaming:D
     
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    @SKY
    8.8/10 now... after 9/10 IF you have a 32bit OS your wasting your money on the 8gb but if you have a 64bit OS i will give you 9.5/10 you really need to go windows Vista or Windows 7 with having a DX10 card and a rig that can handle them

    @h3
    7/10 crappy video card but if you don't game then you get 7.5/10. upgrade that cooling and up that clock some more

    BTW none of my CPUs are at there max overclock.
    The 4850e runs 3.2ghz@1.37v 24/7 just fine but have it running @3ghz@1.31v because i didn't notice any difference at 3.2 over 3ghz. The 5kBE can run at 3.1ghz 24/7 @1.4v but don't like the voltage so its running 3ghz@Stock(1.32v) both the 4850e and 5kBE are lapped to 2k
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well that's all you need than.
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base

    cpu's perform differently with different vga's? even in vantage

    check his specs its a poorly set up rig for benchmarks. 8GB of ram so there is no way he can be running 1066 or good timings for that matter some nasty NV raid....etc


    mines down right now but i'll do some benchmarks after the mobo is post RMA


    this is none 3D but shows some proof to what i'm saying

     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, and in WPirme, the AMD is running it's ram faster, in a benchmark that likes ram tuning.

    Ok, how is this then? http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=698174

    Same gfx card as my run, also with 4GB of ram in his system (using 32bit Vista), and he has a 40Mhz clock advantage. http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=698174

    CPU = 12266

    Mine = 14518

    Note that I was running 4x1GB sticks at 800Mhz 4-4-4-12 for that bench, and absolutely no optimizations. I just popped the card in, left everything on my 24/7 settings in BIOS, set the card to 800/1000, and let it rip.

    Here's an even better one on x64 like mine: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=696221

    Phenom II 940 @3655MHz NB 2365MHz RAM 1146MHz 5-5-5-15-25 2T; HD4870 825/950

    CPU Score= 12389
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  20. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    10/10, sick rig man!:)
     
  21. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    You sir get 10/10 Urbklr

    Very solid build you have, I really like what you have.
     
    Urbklr says thanks.
  22. SkyKast

    SkyKast

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,099 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Location:
    massachusetts
    11/10, 9.8/10 and 10/10 man nice rigs...the extra point in the 11/10 is for having a floppy drive
    thanks man and yah I have Vista 64 Home Premium sitting on my desk :) - immediately switching to windows 7 when it is fully released
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
    Jakl says thanks.
  23. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    @djjakl
    10/10 for all yours rigs mane
    thats just greedy
     
    Jakl says thanks.
  24. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    7.5/10 nice gaming rig.
     
    Jakl says thanks.
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    10/10
     
    RevengE says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page