1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rate the System Above You!

Discussion in 'General Nonsense' started by numlock2.0, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL

    CPU sucks? Now that's where fanboyism comes into play. I could shut down 2 of the cores of my PII and still have more processing power than your e8400. you shouldn't let brand loyalty effect your ratings.
    Sure I admit the Phenom II is not as powerful as an i7, but it holds it's own with Core 2 Quads at the same clock speed. I'll admit 2 monitors are better than one though.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    no actually you wont the E8X00 series is better than the phenom II dual cores performance wise and they tend to clock higher. also it holds its own against the weaker Core2Quads the yorkie's eat it alive.


    and to be 100% honest the rig i just built my brother out of spare parts beats both of yours
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  3. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Umm cdawall did you forget the Phenom II 940 is a quad core? In fact last time I checked only the PII 955 was better as far as AMD CPU's are concerned.
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    what do you mean by the 940BE is better? i outclocked you with a X4 910 thats my 24/7 clocks i have higher ones if you want to see those


    [​IMG]


    and the 550BE can unlock to a quad :slap:


    wouldn't go that far seeing how the 550BE with an oc can out game your current setup now 4.4ghz on air with your E8400 changes that but not were you site right now
     
  5. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    OK let's do the math it's quite simple: E8400=Wolfdale= 2 cores, Phenom II 940=Deneb= 4 cores. 4 cores > 2 cores. The only test I know of that the e8400 would beat the PII 940 in is superpi and everyone knows that is designed to favor Intel CPU's and is single threaded which doesn't take advantage of multiple cores.
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    its not designed to favor intels it just does due to there architecture. also throw UT3 or just about any other game out there on it and it will only utilize two cores which means that E8400 can still outperform deneb.
     
  7. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL

    What I'm comfortable clocking to and running 24/7 and what my system is capable of are 2 different things cda, I did checkout k10stat and have had it up to 3.9 ghz on air but i'm not comfortable running it at that speed because the ambient temp in my computer room hits 85f+ and 45c + idle temps are something I'm not comfortable with.
     
  8. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    chuck216 - 9.9/10 AMD FTW!!!
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    and i have had 4.1ghz on my 910 with just air

    [​IMG]
     
  10. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    I'm not going to get into that. I'll admit I'm not as good an overclocker as you are, heck I won't even try OCing my PII via HT link speed. I don't have the skills to fine tune a system that much. But that's a limitation on the user not the system. I'm sure in the hands of someone such as yourself a setup such as mine could hit 4 ghz + on air. But the owner's skills or lack thereof shouldn't effect the overall score. I put very little weight to the overclock someone has on their CPU unless it's something really outstanding compared to what is "normal" under the same conditions.
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    thing is a 940BE can only do the same as my chip on air. meaning your comment that it was one of the best chips from AMD is untrue i have seen the same out of the 920's on air all things equal any phenom II can hit 4ghz with a little work and a half decent chip.
     
  12. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL

    Correct all Phenom II are basically the same as far as overclocking capabilty is concerned. I should have been more specific and said only the 955 is better at stock clocks. Given they have the same architecture any Phenom II with the same amount of cores at the same speed should perform the same.
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    well there is more to it than that but yea basically correct
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,412 (7.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,892
    Cdawall I respect your knowledge and I do believe you about the E8400 spanking the Deneb. However would you mind posting some benches to back yourself up? For argument sake? Links? Whatever you got.
     
    odameyer says thanks.
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,412 (7.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,892
    I'm not going to go rooting all over the web man. You guys make the claim. I want to see the proof. The only reason I am entertaining this is because Cdawall is an established member and I believe him. I just want some evidence thats all.
     
  16. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    I'll admit in any application that doesn't utilize all the cores of the Phenom II the e8400 would probably edge it out clock for clock. But in multithreaded applications, I'm sorry but 4 cores is always better than 2 at the same clock speed.
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    here is one review

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-phenom-ii-x4-920-and-940-review-test/17

    they directly test the E8400 the however do not show it oc'd but regardless it performs pretty close to the phenom II in gaming
     
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,412 (7.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,892
    In a few games it comes close. However in most it gets its butt handed to it. Hell in gaming my 720 hangs with i7s for a few titles. I think some of the comments made here in the last few pages are misleading.
     
  19. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    The E8400, hangs in there with the 940BE & 720BE for what ive read, still 3 or 4 cores will make it a better value if they're in the same price range or under, the E8400, oc's easier and higher on air.

    Nice Rig Mailman78, had a 720BE for a few weeks they OC great , mine couldn't be unlocked to a quad still, was fast as hell at 3.8Ghz 1.42v and ran cooler than my current e8400 at 3.6

    8.5/10 you need more Hz on that 720.
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,885 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,173
    guys, stop arguing about whos PC is faster. mine is :D

    Mailman: in response to your TX750 comment, your PC wont use 400W+ my PC uses 420W in gaming and 550W in furmark, with TWO 4870's - there is simply no way your PC uses that much power (and yes, i measured at the wall)

    On the silly CPU arguments: dual vs quad is always argued. simple fact: for gaming, its irrelevant. even the games which are well known for being CPU bottlenecked (supreme commander, for example) still prefer a higher clocked dual, over a quad. i know, because i damn well tested it personally before dropping my Q6600 for this xeon.

    When it comes to GAMING, higher clocks/higher performance per clock is what matters... and for that, a phenom II is close enough to a core 2 duo/core 2 quad, that its really only the clocks that matter. (phenom 1 otoh, is behind a decent bit)
     
  21. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    When it comes to games stressing the CPU, it would seem logical that if that load can be spread out over more cores then the overall strain on the CPU and thus temps etc would be lower while playing.

    I'm sorry but even the most intense single threaded applications don't single out a certain core in multi-core systems.
    Instead the load is divided amongst the available cores. In a dual core each core would do 50% of the work on average, 33% for tri-core, and 25% for the quads.
    Some may go higher some lower but on average they are about that.
    Now which would you rather have a CPU that is being strained to 50% load by a game, or one that is only being pushed to 25% load?
    I'll take the one that's only using 25% of it's overall power and thus generating a lot less heat, drawing less power etc.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,885 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,173
    it does not work that way chuck. you've made a mess of the logic in your head somehow.

    a single threaded app is just that - SINGLE threaded. ONE thread, on ONE core. it cant 'even it out' - the 50% and 25% numbers you're thinking of, is just how task manager reports it.
     
  23. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    So you're telling me all those applications that show CPU usage, coretemp Speedfan, etc. are all reporting it wrong and one core is doing all the work and the numbers and graphical displays changing for all 4 cores is just for show?
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    actually single threaded apps use one thread thats kinda how they got the name single threaded lets take super pi for example its single threaded and will utilize one of the 4 cores in my quad


    [​IMG]

    its not put 25% on each core it put 100% on one core hence single threaded


    now look at wprime

    [​IMG]

    all 4 cores are at 100% usage hence a multi threaded benchmark
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Just got done building my second AM3 rig. Gonna OC it later but it's going to my GF most likely.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page