1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rate the System Above You!

Discussion in 'General Nonsense' started by numlock2.0, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    7/10 im a ati intel fan :p but a good system you got
     
  2. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    9.9/10 :eek:
     
  3. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Lionheart^^Nice X58 MB and gpu...looks like a really well balanced system...9.2
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  4. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    8.5/10 , still very capable CPU + very powerful GPU is not bad combination

    BTW.. time to upgrade to W7 .
     
    dieselcat18 says thanks.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Just rebuilt the little bro's PC with some spare parts I had laying around.

    Phenom II 910@3.6ghz
    Corsair H50 w/ scythe ultra kaze's
    2x2GB mixed DDR3@1600 CL9
    Gigabyte GA790FXTA-UD5
    Seagate 250GB 5400RPM (x3 in raid 0)
    HIS 3870X2+Sapphire 3870X2 (quadfire) @871/981mhz
    Thermaltake Purepower 850w
    24" AOC 1920x1080
     
  6. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    7/10 - nice system. How does the quad 3870 hold up to the latest generation graphics cards? I'd imagine it's on par with a 6850/70 with games that run crossfire well? I'd imagine that the system eats tons of electricity :(
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,900 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,481
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The 3000-series cards didn't scale very well in CF, it might not be that powerful while eating up electricity like there is no tomorrow. It's an interesting setup, that is for sure. I would replace the 3870s at some point though. I would imagine that quad-fire would cause more problems than it would solve.

    As for your machines:
    8.5/10, looks like a good gamer. Go SB. :)
    7/10, Nice little laptop, might want more than 2gb of memory though.
    9/10, HTPC is built like a HTPC. Looks great, but a SSD would make it more quiet. Also C2Ds tend to run warm, a newer CPU might run cooler and make less heat. Out of curiosity, how loud and warm does your HTPC run?
     
  8. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Yea, i have 4gb for my lappy, i forgot to update my profile :) The HTPC is silent (in my noisy ass house at least) i think i have only 1 fan in there, maybe two, but it's undervolted and clocked at 3ghz. The temps are a little over room temperature, i forget exactly, but well within limits.

    and 10/10 for your rig - Very nice setup
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    It doesn't do to bad about equal to my old 4850X2 until you add AA which kills these cards. Without AA it runs without any issues with most games maxed out at the monitors native resolution. I still haven't gotten around to seeing how much wattage it pulls at the wall with a power hungry C2 chip and quadfire...The 850w takes it like a champ.

    For your rigs
    8/10, Plenty fast CPU might need a little more VGA.
    6/10, Laptop's a laptop
    7/10, HTPC needs more HDD

    They pull quite a bit of power. Quadfire really doesn't have any issues the drivers haven't had any problems and the cards all run overclocked without any problems. Biggest issue I had was cranking the NB up on the old C2 chip to help the bandwidth issues out. ~2.6ghz NB really helped more than you would think. Most oddball issue was it would run out of memory with 2x2GB installed had to bump up to 4x2GB.

    As for your rig I would go a solid 9.5/10 I don't really like that cooler :p
     
  10. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    Just curious..what don't you like about that CM V8 cooler ? ...Reason I ask is because I bought one dirt cheap new on Newegg a while back and I'm saving it for a complete new build sometime down the road ...... though it was recognized as a very good cpu heat sink......:confused:

    *+
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Was referring to the second guy quotes who has a zalman I am not a fan of them out of personal preference. The V8 is fine a little more normal vs the V10 I have.
     
  12. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Yea, i use my main rig as a server for everything else. I'd like another 2tb drive, but the current prices are a little high, if i swapped anything out i'd prolly get a ssd and a new mobo for the htpc before more space.

    As to the V8 - i love mine, it's a bit large but for air-cooling it's pretty damn good.

    btw - how the hell do you lap your netbook?
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Pulled the cooler out and lapped it.
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,900 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,481
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I used to have a 9500 that cooled my old Core 2 E6600 and it did a pretty good job at it. The Thermaltake Frio kept my Phenom II 940 pretty cool even at really high voltages. I was debating using the Frio, but I would have to get a LGA2011 bracket for it. I have two SUNON 150CFM fans on it, so it's certainly not quiet at high speeds either, but it moves a ton of air and does an excellent job at cooling (if sound doesn't matter.) As for the 9900, it's big and not wide, which lets me use extra tall memory in all 8 dimm slots which a lot of coolers will prohibit. Also I've been able to push 1.45v after LLC on my SB-E and not break 80*C which isn't too bad. I just wasn't a fan of mounting it.

    All in all, the fan might be slow and quiet, but the fins provide a lot of surface area close to the heat pipes. My chassis has enough air flow where it really works well. I've never tried a CoolerMaster CPU cooler, maybe next time I upgrade I'll try one out if it works well for you.

    +1. :eek:... :banghead:
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    You can use whatever cooler works for you...I just don't like them it's a personnel preference thing.
     
  16. dieselcat18

    dieselcat18

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach, FL
    QUOTE=cdawall;2706499]Was referring to the second guy quotes who has a zalman I am not a fan of them out of personal preference. The V8 is fine a little more normal vs the V10 I have.[/QUOTE]

    Ahh...Sorry, my mistake. Thought you were referring to silkstone.

    I did run a Zalman 9500 in a previous rig on a C2D E6600 and that seemed to do a decent job...and currently running a Zalman 9700 with idle temps at 37/35/31/36C with an ambient room temp of 79F. I know past testing of these coolers found them to be more middle of the pack compared to other high-end cooler...cooling could be a bit better, but they seem to get the job done.

    ^^cdawell - Netbook N/A / HTPC 9.0+ / Gamer 9.25+
    ^^Aquinus - 9.45+
    ^^silkstone - Gaming 9.0+ / Lappy N/A / HTPC 8.75+

    *+
     
  17. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    ^cdawall nice rig 8/10
     
  18. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,137 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    7/10, nice solid build!
     
  19. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    9.5/10

    Perfect Sandy B. Gaming platform! :respect:
    9.5 'cause you list the sound card, but not the setup. :)
     
  20. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    JP ,20/10 for your system;)
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Added a second VGA to mine
     
  22. IamEzio

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    141 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    9.5/10 , nice card's you have there ..:toast:
     
  23. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Good one all around gaming system 8/10
     
  24. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,137 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    9/10 only because you dont list anything besides a tiny ssd as far as hd's go.
     
  25. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Well i have 1 sata 500 GB caviar blue for storage. Thanks for the vote.

    Your is similar to mine with very high end graphics card i give 9.5/10 to yours.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page