1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ray Tracing: The next step in CG ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by _33, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Article

    I suggest downloading those videos and check them out. Some mirroring, shadowing effects are really impossible to render as sharp as what you see on these videos with standard 3D cards.
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2006
  2. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    that's really cool :D just read the whole thing, loved the water, loved the lighting in q3

    i might see if i can play their q3, cuz i haven't in a while!!
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    it works, but to get it working good your more than likely looking at a quad sli setup and a dual core cpu @ 2.6GHz+ and at least 2GB fast ram (say PC6400+ with tight latencies)
  4. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    For now, most Ray Trace engines do not use the GPU's rendering pipeline. Meaning that for the current state of Ray Trace, a 2D card will just do fine, yet a quad core processor will definately help speeding up the rendering.

    Eventually I suspect the rendering will be offloaded from the CPU and integrated into GPUs. That is my wish.

    ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page