1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Razer Tiamat 7.1

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by Animalpak, Sep 9, 2013.

  1. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hello guys and good morning ! :laugh:

    I found these brandnew conditions headphones at a very attractive price from privat seller.

    I was wondering if the virtual sound card that Supreme X-FI built into my Maximus VI gene is enough to fully exploit the potential of these headphones?

    In the options of the drivers i can choose whether to switch from stereo to 5.1 channels or 7.1 this means that I can use these headphones ?

    And if i look the rear I/O panel theres all the outputs that i need.

    Thanks guys for any adice
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,380
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes and Yes.
     
    Animalpak says thanks.
  3. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hey guys i just plugged in my Tiamat 7.1 headphone to my motherboard 7.1 channel on-board sound card...

    And it sounds like crap... Not clear not even loud ... 200 bills price tag headphones c mon !!

    I think the drivers of the Supreme FX III are very poor compared to the z77 chipsets rog motherboards.

    At this point i consider to buy a dedicated sound card !
     
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,126 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Private seller for cheap and they sound like crap.. my money is he blew out the headphones and u got suckered
     
  5. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    the headphones are original from razer brand new and the box was still unpacked and sealed... :shadedshu
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,820
    Location:
    04578
    This is why you dont buy Razer headphones or Creative headphones lol. Love how the cheapo junk seems to last for ever but the over priced cans from those two companies tend to be epic fail.
     
    Vario says thanks.
  7. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,126 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    define sealed? not hard to put stuff back in a box and tape it
     
  8. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,396 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    CZ
    I dont think Razer does factory sealing so he could have ripped you off.
     
  9. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    627
    Location:
    Switzerland
    well seems you never bought razer products, because they do...
     
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,126 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I don't recall them being shrink wrapped.. just a cardboard box with some tapey stuff holding it closed..

    Don't get all butthurt cause we might be right that you wasted money..
     
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,080 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,015
    +1

    Had good luck with the sennheiser HD280 closed ear headphones, http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000065BPB/?tag=tec06d-20.

    Don't need sound canceling or anything when you have a closed ear phone, this is all you hear and the sound reproduction quality is pretty damn good, its for audiophiles/studios afterall.
     
  12. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,143 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    check the jack and the cable first, since a while it may not at good condition.
    so it brings you noise, or like that.
    btw it looks good?
    i mean no scratch, feels solid
     
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,143 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah, i just plan to buy headphone. but just generic brand. branded stuff may give you different looks and taste but if you just need basic features you could take generic headphones that nice and wont swallow your wallet too much
     
  14. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,253 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Surround headphones will never work properly. Most of them are gimmicky like they keyboards made for 'gamers.'
    Here's what you do for best head phone quality playback on the computer:

    -Find a decent set of normal stereo head phones with crisp highs and stable lows(NON usb).
    -Buy a dedicated sound card - doesn't have to be extremely costly, even a basic Xonar or standard Creative will do.
    -Use the sound card's bundled software/drivers/services (start up), and configure a custom EQ to maximize and achieve your audio preference(s).
    -(Optional for further EQ enhancement and semi-surround sound) Download Razer Surround, allow the program to act as your standard audio device and then adjust it's EQ similar to your sound card's settings [Not recommended for music listening, only gaming].

    Personal recommendation for nice sound quality and flexibility on a budget?
    Creative Fatal1ty HS 800 phones
    and
    Asus Xonar 5.1 DG (or 7.1 DS)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page