1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RBE feature requests

Discussion in 'RBE' started by BAGZZlash, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    If you got ideas of more features to add, please post them here! :)
     
    1BadMoJoe says thanks.
  2. t3hn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    what if you could have some recently opened bios list so it wouldn't take you few minutes browsing on your pc to find bios?

    * edit:
    check for update button?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2008
  3. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    • An option to load and/or save the changes made on the bios. So you can load the changes when you got a clean bios from to begin.
    • A warning message like "This is a HD2x00/HD3xx0 Editor" If someone want to open/edit a PRE HD2x00/3xx0 Bios
    • Automatic check for a updates at start up
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2008
  4. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    • A function which check after entering input, if there are other input boxes with the same old value. Gives a pop up and ask if the user want to change the other values boxes to the new value. (Is very handy when changing memory speed etc)
     
  5. Wolf91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It would be lovely if it were possibile to control the FAN SETTINGS of 3870X2 cards.

    Many people have great problems with the Fan Stepping table...... This could solve them and so won't be necessary to use RivaTuner!

    My card have this problem.... The fan starts running fast just over 90°.... But in 9 cases out of 10 it will reset before this temperature to prevent frying.....
     
  6. Mad-Matt

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Lincoln
    Id like to see a pal switch for enabling pal display sizes. Every previous radeon card allows 720x512, but for some reason missing on the 3870. Some cards have pal hardare switch as all previous radeon cards ... but not my launch day 3870.

    If it can by added into the bios by this great bios editor, then that would be great ;)
     
  7. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    You can set this using the CCC, can't you?
     
  8. Mad-Matt

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Lincoln
    No. Not with the 3870. drop any other card in such as x800 and 1950pro and it appears as a selectable res. plop 3870 back in and the res is gone. The 3870 does have an ntsc sticker on it. im not sure if any have been released as pal versions. kinda hoping that its an unlockable hidden away in the bios somewhere ;)
     
  9. L7R New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Support for changing voltages in 2900 series cards would be great! ...Or if someone already got it working (in any RBE version) please let us know, thank you. Although quantum force works fine for voltage changing, it doesnt preserve correct bios checksum.
     
  10. L7R New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just tried previous versions and found 1.07 works with 2900Pro(512bit) and 2900XT. Both 2D and 3D voltages works fine! 1.08, 1.09 and 1.10 didn't preserve voltage changes. I use Atiflash for flashing.
     
  11. BodyAction19 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    I would like adding support for the X*** series, because they aren't dead yet. Thks
     
  12. chamb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello BAGZZlash. You really make an amazing work on this RBE!

    I am definitely voting for this one: Fan Settings access for HD3870X2. Without RivaTuner my Asus card crashes anytime I'm playing some serious games, because of overheating...

    What we'd really love is the direct temperature transfer function like the one you get for single HD3870... Much better than those stupid temperature tables they use by default.
     
  13. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    RBE v1.11 (coming the next days) will add full support of fan control for most 3870 X². Still, some 3870 X² can't be supported because the part of the BIOS programming the controller is messed up. But again: For most cards it will work. :)
     
  14. chamb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This the best news of the day !

    I will now start praying my Asus card has a standard design.

    Have a nice day BAGZZlash.
     
  15. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    In the TPU database, there are two BIOSes for 3870 X² from Asus, both are being supported. :) Still, gotta hope the card takes the changed values. Would you do me the favour and keep me updated after testing it?
     
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Does RBE support the HD4k series?
     
  17. chamb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When RBE 1.11 is available I will take some time and try to flash my Asus HD3870X2 with updated fan control. I do not plan to change the clocks though. I'll post my results on this forum of course.
     
  18. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Sure.

    Thanks! :toast:
     
  19. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    a force flash option witha big warning and many clauses.
     
  20. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    I think it would be sweet if you ould set it up so that after you flash the card with the edited bios that you can overclock the card from there, this way you dont have to keep flashing the bios, it seems that after you flash the edited bios on to it they are then locked.
     
  21. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    which card are using? I can still overclock more after i've flash. I just use RBE to edit voltage and fan settings.
     
  22. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    I want to edit/change the default values of mem/gpu which you can see in GPU-Z.

    For example the Sapphire HD 3870 Atomic Edition bios has a speed of 825/1200mhz. When I edit my normal bios to those speeds I still see the old default vaules of 777/1126mhz.
     
  23. chamb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well I've just done it.
    I flashed my Asus HD3870X2 card to modify the fan control. It worked perfectly at the first attempt, the card's fan speed is now proportional to the core temperature (transfer function). And I do not experience those crashes in games anymore.

    Thank you so much BAGZZlash for making this possible.

    My card exact reference is "EAH3870X2/G/HTDI/1G" in case someone has the same. It is a pretty standard design that almost every HD3870X2 on the market would follow.
     
  24. smartali89

    smartali89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    525 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Support for X1000 plxzz...
     
  25. Divet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Please, add the possibility to adjust "duty cycle min". On my Radeon 2650 this parameter is 31 and I am planning to change it to 25. For quietness.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page