1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RBE v1.14 ready for download

Discussion in 'RBE' started by BAGZZlash, Aug 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    RBE v1.14 is available now!

    Here are the new things:

    v1.14
    - Fixed bug with method one overdrive hack not working. Should run fine now.
    - Added fan control for 4870 X2. Completely new controller chip, was a big pain in the ass to code... :-/
    - Made spin up fix, powerplay functionality and voltage decrease in the one-click update for 4xx0 cards seperately selectable.
    - Fixed WinFlash check sum correction bug.
    - Added and fixed a lot of small things. Too many and too minor to mention all... :)

    Please tell me your opinion about everything! :)
     
    bloodmaster, VuurVOS, Scrizz and 3 others say thanks.
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,429 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I like the new setup of the overdrive hack, has options for each card. That is one thing I wasn't sure about using on my cards. Maybe add in info for the 3870x2 cards. Other than that I like it, not sure about the spin up fix, but I am sure that will get explained eventually, both my 4k cards have to go in for RMA.
     
  3. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    What have you done with you cards? A bad/wrong flash is almost always recoverable with a backup of the orginal bios.

    @BAGZZlash
    I like the pull down menu for the overdrive hack :)
     
  4. LuxZg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    170 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I'm just gonna reboot, and will tell you how it goes. I think I've tweaked pretty much everything this time :D
     
  5. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,429 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    One card has been defective since I got it, just took me till now to realize it, the other for some reason, no matter what BIOS I put on the card, I can't get the drivers to recognise it after install.
     
  6. LuxZg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    170 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Well, with my 4870 all seems to work just fine.

    i've changed clocks for everything, memory with low-volt tweak, fans in several way (and like half a dozen tries till I found a right setting for me :p :D ), unlocked catalyst overdrive, works with 8.8 on XP SP3.. I mean - I did it all. And all that's connected to 4870 seems to work without problems or driver issues after rebooting.

    Now if only there wasn't for that GDDR5 flickering, I wouldn't need anything other than RBE tweakd BIOS :( Btw, any way to unlock overdrive for the lower values? If I could set my core/memory to 160/250 in Overdrive that would also solve me some problems, as I could just use 2 CCC profiles for 2D/3D, and wouldn't need other tools like ATT..
     
  7. glenboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks for a great program flashed my 2 x 4870x2s a number of times with it , few things the ccc overdrive limit one button sort of works but when flashed as on my system when reboot had to manually install each card , but the ccc had the right clocks in from 750 to 990 on gpu but when i tried to set overdrive to 770 instead of 750 and pressesd apply the pointer goes back to 750 also when going on crossfire menu the crossfire box says crossfire instead of crossfireX and when you tick it and press apply the tick just disappears , fan control worked perfectly though , maybe its because it thinks there are 4 4870s in instead od 2 x 4870x2s, if we could get an asus 4870x2 TOP bios that has the ccc limit of gpu 1000 and mem 1200, thanks for the good work anyway ,
     
  8. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Sounds nice! ;)

    Did you try setting all memory clocks to the same value? You can't save much power using low clock settings for the RAM anyway but this will help you get rid of flickering.
     
  9. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Florida, US
    w00t downloading now
     
  10. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Your wrong. I save much power by it and the card becomes much cooler. Without ram underclocking (only gpu) my card stays at 55 degree with ~23Amps.. With ram underclocking it became 38 degrees with 6,8Amps :D
     
  11. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Maybe. However, flickering will be gone that way. So, it depends on what you prefer... :cool:
     
  12. akatitan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi.
    thanks for the latest installment of RBE.

    Is the RBE v1.14 overdrive hack working for cat 8.8? i tryed the 4870(hash) overdrive hack on my 4850, cat 8.8 still will not work for me:ohwell:
     
  13. taloche New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello,

    I try RBE v1.14 with mod of method 2 for overdrive limit. Don't work with catalyst 8.8. So i try with mod of clock setting (500 and 850 for GPU no change for mem) and it work (it work also with RBE 1.13).

    Edit : i try also methode 1 and change to this value. It's working. So i think the methode 2 have a bad checksum or imcompatible with cat 8.8.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  14. LuxZg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    170 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I did solve it by setting back all the memory clocks to same value in BIOS, I knew that.. But for 2D I still use Ati tray tools for 160/250 clocks.. And actually I can save a lot of power. 500/900 @ 1,263V gives me ~160W while 160/250 @1,083V gives me ~105W. out of those ~55W I get roughly just a few W from GPU clock drop, around 45W for memory drop, and additional ~10W for voltage drop. So actually memory saves the most power :)

    No problem though, I have everything set now:
    idle: 160/250 @ 1,083V ~26% fan, <50C GPU, 45C VRMs, 6.8A, 105-108W
    load: 800/1100 @ 1,263 ~55% fan, ~70C GPU (memio ~82C), 80-83C VRMs, peak around 61A and 307W
    Catalyst 8.8, unlocked to 990/1200, though that matters less cos I have to use ATT for low 160/250 clocks.. That's why I've asked if it's possible to make Catalyst go lower, than I could make 2 profiles for 2D&3D in Catalyst instead of ATT.
    Btw, that's all in XP SP3. In Vista I had no problems with flashed bios+cat 8.7, but cat 8.8 gives me huge problems, and it's probably NOT bios related.. gave up on testing, will just format Vista and to hell with it :p :D
     
  15. bloodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    4870x2 bios flash

    I have change default bios fan settings of my 4870x2 with RBE 1.14 (get the bioses master and slave with GPU-Z 0.27 ) the correct way to flash back the 4870x2 with Atiflash is this : atiflash -f -p 0 xxx.bin (master bios ) and atiflash -f -p 1 xxx.bin (slave bios) ??
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  16. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Thats why I am using ATI Tray Tools for 2D and 3D switching (auto overclock)
     
  17. akatitan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  18. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Mostly it's the other way around. But you have to figure out yourself. Read the tutorial to lern, how. :cool:
     
  19. glenboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hiya baggzflash whats the maximum gpu core voltage that is effective by modding it in the bios on a 4870x2 is it 1.35 like the 2900xts or 1.276 like i have seen somewhere, tthanks in advance
     
  20. tomcug New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Glenboy, I don't think you can raise HD 4870 X2's voltage by modding your BIOS. But you have to check it by yourself :).
     
  21. glenboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i'm pretty sure you can change the volts to 1.276 instead of 1.25 in rbe a, i did it and the gpu core temps went up after so i'm pretty sure it was getting more volts
     
  22. VuurVOS New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    306 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Did you check the VRM power consumption in GPU-Z ? Otherwise I would'nt call it pretty sure.
     
  23. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Regarding ATI HD4800 series cards: Every BIOS has a voltage range set in it by the BIOS maker (card manufacturer/ATI). Depending on the BIOS version, the voltage will either be locked in to a certain value or will only respond to values within that BIOS set voltage range. There isn't any functionality yet in RBE to change this voltage range yet, only to modify voltages for specific BIOS states.

    So you can mess around in RBE, setting voltages to whatever you want, but if it's not within the voltage range, it won't do anything...
     
  24. Martin.v.r New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    #23
    :cry: ned a new bios tool,to set new voltset in bios on 4870:banghead:
    I flash to ASUS 4870 TOP,It is nice,but ned more volt.
     
  25. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Are you certain about this? I know the tool they use, there's no such an option.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page