1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Re-Building my Watercooled SS Temjin TJ09

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Chewy, May 24, 2012.

  1. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Help Upgrading my Watercooled System

    I previously had just the Cpu Looped with a rear res/rad mounted set-up.

    I'm looking to include a regular rad (swiftech basic 240mm) to the top, and my Swiftech Komodo 8850 gpu cooler.

    Any ideas on how my loop should look? The rear rad, comes in through the lower rear of the case, and the top rad will be mounted internally. :D

    I was using a small DD pump. Currently have a Jingway DP1200 Brushless pump with a Max height of 4m, and max 800L/h.


    I'm going to try and upload a picture of the case but it can be found here: http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=94&area=en

    Atm I cannot do any upgrading, just rebuilding with what I have. I've been traveling for the last 6 months.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2012
  2. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    El Bumpio !

    Looking for some experienced help. Think I came up with the right Idea though. Only thing is the reservoir of the rear rad will be below the level of the top mounted rad.. I dont think it will be much of a problem? when topping up I will have to just tilt the case.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    Yup just tilt the case and the air will purge from the system.
    I pinch the output line when I fill my system just to slow the flow and allow the air to escape.

    Why not use a triple fan rad like THIS ONE being 64mm thick and hanging from the rear of the case it will cool without any question and you wont need to use the top rad. :pimp:

    Sorry missed you cant upgrade comment. But either way it looks good how you have it.
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  4. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Thanks. I spent alot of time contemplating the loop years ago because I was considering using both pumps. This time it just came more fluid once I actually sat down.. and noticed the gpu block is versatile.

    When its done I may try and sell it locally on Kijiji! Than comes a I3 build (3rd times the charm). Shd look good.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    Yeah you bet, but why I3 and not I5 or 7?
     
  6. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Ah I just need something as an entertainment PC (low power consumption is better). I don't game much anymore, though I may buy Diablo III. It would be more a budget PC, though I would want it to look good and be quite silent.
     
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    Makes sence and you cant go wrong with that.

    what gpu you planning to use, your 5850? Plus isn't Intel bringing out an IvyBridge I3?
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  8. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Oo I have no clue on the gpu. When I finish my WC build if I can get a grand locally for it I will sell it and downgrade.

    Oh man IvyBridge is 22nm. That shd be easy to cool. Well this weekend I will get working on the re-build. Only time will tell what I do, its totally up in the air atm. I've been away from building for a long while, now its caught my interest again.

    Thanks for all the help :D Busy day tomorrow!
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    Thanks and good luck and keep us posted on how the build goes :rockout:
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  10. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,703
    You bet, I'd like to see more pics as the build progresses. That is clean looking plumbing, and is similar to the loop I am running now.

    I had one with the parts set up in your exact position, but I plumbed from the CPU out to the external rad, then back to the GPU. The idea was to keep a rad before each major component. I'm not sure that it made a difference, but it's what I had in my head at the time. It added a slight bit of clutter to the loop. Now I run things pretty close to the way you have it laid out, since the water temp reaches an equilibrium, anyhow.

    Old loop:
    [​IMG]


    New loop:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2636412&postcount=20702
     
    Chewy and fullinfusion say thanks.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,635 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,408
    Love the new case and water block man! I have the Full Nickel plated EK block and sitting @ 5.3GHz 34c and lovin it! :toast:
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  12. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Both nice set-ups Alex, I had the same idea as your first when I was planning my loops years ago. Someone said the water should reach the cpu first since that is the most important usually. Minor differences Im sure. Well Imma happily be capable of overclocking the gpu if I feel like it. Never found a real need before, it ran games perfectly imo.

    Pictures will be up when in the works or almost complete :D Happy TPU'n
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page