1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RE: Computer build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Paladone, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    For reference, my H80 does 23c idle 37c load on my pII 945 overclocked. Some of the best air cooling can come close, but nothing air can touch that.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  2. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    So, looking at the Phantom 410 case, could i fit the H100 on the case? or would it have to be the h80?
     
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,738 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,850
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    They offer higher air pressure (better rad cooling) and are quieter due to the design, and they are MoFo'ing orange :D. 7970 scales better with monitors, as far as im aware the 680 was a flop and most people are going 7970's or 670's
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
    Paladone says thanks.
  4. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    464 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    As mentioned in the previous thread; yes, the H100 will mount to the top of the Phantom 410.
     
  5. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Oh wow, true.
     
  6. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Aaah, are the cougar turbines much more expensive?
     
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,738 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,850
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Actually they are quite reasonably priced (cheaper than what most people use for rads - Akasa, Noctua, Scythe gentle typhoon etc), i think i picked up 4 for around £41

    http://www.cougar-world.com/products/fans/turbine.html
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  8. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Just out of curiosity, can you crossfire two different cards, eg. a 7970 and gtx680?
     
  9. phoen

    phoen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
    No.
     
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You can only crossfire cards of same series for AMD. ex: 7xxx. The crossfire will take the core speeds of lowest card.

    Nvidea: you need the same card. Ex: GTX670> GTX670. GTX670 will not SLI with GTX680
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page