1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

re-flash corrupted VGA BIOS

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by sleepwalkerfx, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. sleepwalkerfx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    One of my friend's ATI HD 5770 VGA BIOS has corrupted when updating. Now there's no display at all. No beeps. His motherboard has an onboard VGA card. System can be booted with this onboard VGA. So is it possible to re-flash the ATI VGA bios using a bios updating tool, after booting into windows using onboard VGA? Is there any workaround?
  2. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    sleepwalkerfx says thanks.
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,528 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012
    sleepwalkerfx says thanks.
  4. sleepwalkerfx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for the replies guys. Really appreciate it! :)
    Law-II says thanks.
  5. sleepwalkerfx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Tried the dos mode and atiflash, atiflash -i command returns "Adapter not found", does it mean that the Vga is dead ?
  6. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,528 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  7. sleepwalkerfx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yes i am using the onboard to boot, Tried atiflash -i 1, still gives the "adapter not found", yes im using atiflash 3.99, can it be a hardware fault or something :(
    Law-II says thanks.
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You have to type the right PCIe slot in dos if i remember correctly
  9. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,528 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    If the adapter is not being found at 0 or 1; then it may be that the vga bios was damaged during the last flashing process, unfortunatly I do not think it can be recovered unless you are able to find a way for the card to be recognised by atiflash.

    best of luck

    Law-II
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    prob right there
    "atiflash -i command returns "Adapter not found" pretty much confirms corrupted bios :mad:
    you will need to find the bios chip on the card,this pic it's right next to the 'green' sticker
    [​IMG]
    it might be different location on your card but it should have the code Pm25lv*** on it .
    I have att the data sheet for it & a walkthrough 'pdf' of what you need to do Good luck

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page