1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

re-installing windows on laptop

Discussion in 'General Software' started by m32500, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. m32500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I wan't to re install windows on my wife's acer 5532 laptop,it did not come with a windows disc. i was seeing if i can use my windows 7 disc i bought for my pc build? but use the serial numbers off of her laptop.(btw her laptop has windows 7 all ready)
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    If it is the same version of Windows 7, yes.
  3. m32500 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i know they are both 64bit i know mine is premium i"ll find out what hers is when she gets home.does it matter if it home or premium ect... ? opps mine is professional
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,308 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    if you just need win7 and for basic things take the lowest version of win 7 but dont expect too much with that apperance
  5. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    You should be good to go...otherwise contact the MFG of her Laptop.
  6. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,518 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    Location:
    United States
    The backup (factory OS) is likely on a separate partition of the laptop. Is the hard drive dead or do you just need to reinstall?
  7. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,139 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Mexico
    If your Windows isn't the same version as your wife's, you can download the correct ISO from here:

    woops... wrong language
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Enterprise copies....mutiple installations. nice.
  9. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,139 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Mexico
    woops... Sorry, disregard my previous post; those are Spanish versions. Here are the links to the English versions:

    Windows 7 Professional x64 (64-bit)
    English: http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent.net/msvista/pub/X15-65805/X15-65805.iso
    Windows 7 Professional x86 (32-bit)
    English: http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent.net/msvista/pub/X15-65804/X15-65804.iso
    Windows 7 Home Premium x64 (64-bit)
    English: http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent.net/msvista/pub/X15-65733/X15-65733.iso
    Windows 7 Home Premium x86 (32-bit)
    English: http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent.net/msvista/pub/X15-65732/X15-65732.iso
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,359 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Hell
    If your disc is pro and laptop has the pro license as well then just use that disc and install it. If laptop has other license (home) then you need to unlock your windows 7 disc. Copy content of that dvd, remove ei.cfg file in the sources folder, and then use oscdimg to make a bootable iso and then just burn it on dvd or make a bootable usb. You can even add latest drivers and updates to that dvd/usb. Here's how and here.
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page