1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Real Temp Feature Requests

Discussion in 'RealTemp' started by W1zzard, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    That's a good idea R1_

    Unfortunately I haven't had enough time to work on RealTemp lately. I rarely see anyone using that feature in screen shots but I agree that it would look better if they were side by side. I will put it on the things to do list. I have mostly been busy overclocking my 3570K. Debating whether to hit it with a big hammer to knock the lid off of it. I probably shouldn't but I probably will anyhow.

    Nice overclock. My E8400 was a fun chip until I abused it too much running it without a heatsink in the name of science. I remember it saw over 4500 MHz for some suicide runs with enough voltage to light up any small town. :)

    It seemed to reach a point where it was no longer stable running 64 bit code. Wonder why?
     
    R1_ says thanks.
  2. R1_ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is more than enough for me! Thank you!
    ha ha really fun :)
    Good luck!
    I will be waiting for new release!
     
  3. Angel New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This may seam like a random request but is there any plans to release an Android app? I love Real Temp an use it on my machine but when running things in full screen I would like to be able to monitor the temps on either a tablet or phone (Android being my preference).
     
  4. Bruce Dawson New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Rename Minimum/Maximum labels

    The Minimum and Maximum fields on the RealTemp main screen are initially confusing. I thought they were the maximum temperature allowed, not the maximum temperature seen. It would be useful to clarify that by renaming them to Minimum/Maximum Recorded Temperature
     
  5. Bruce Dawson New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ETW integration would be valuable

    I sometimes record ETW traces from customers who are playing Valve games and I sometimes see evidence of thermal throttling in these traces. However, proving that thermal throttling is the problem is quite painful. I recently resolved one of these cases by getting the customer to install RealTemp and pointing out that their CPU temperatures were hitting 105 degrees celsius.

    It would be really handy if RealTemp would emit custom ETW events containing the temperature. I could then record those along with all the other data (CPU sampling, context switches, GPU load, etc.) and see how the maximum and current CPU temperatures correlate with performance.

    Another alternative would be if RealTemp provided an API that I would query to get this information.

    The log file is the obvious alternative, but that doesn't get the temperature data into the same timeline as the other data.

    If you're interested in the ETW idea then I can supply sample code. I've blogged about the concepts a lot at:
    http://randomascii.wordpress.com/
     
  6. seagull1962 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nevermind -- i can't code
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013
  7. argonaut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    running a command EVERY time temp rises above a given level

    It would be good if a command could be set to run _every_ time the temperature passes a certain level, without having to manually reset. (Maybe with a settable minimum interval that must have passed since the last alarm, to prevent too-frequent invocations). Also, to run another command when, after overheating, the temperature drops below a given level.

    Use case: when running Folding@Home, to pause the program whenever overheating happens, and restart it when the CPU has cooled down.
     
  8. Ron New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Feature Request: display Fan Speed

    I would like to be able to monitor fan speeds (system & CPU) in addition to CPU temperature.
    Temperature is only half the equation when maintaining and monitoring healthy PC cooling.

    If temps are going up, first thing I want to know is: what are my fans doing?
    Do I need to replace a fan?

    Seeing fan speed also helps you correlate fan activity with system noise levels.

    Please make this option available.

    Thanks!
    Ron
     
  9. zoom314 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Unclewebb, I'm still using RealTemp 3.70, though I do have one minor problem with it, the button for taskbar keeps setting itself up to stay in the taskbar when I minimize the program back to the tray, I have to unclick taskbar in settings and then click on ok, apply may as well not be there, then I can minimize to the tray without 3.70 going to the taskbar, when I open 3.70 again I have to repeat this all over again. Hopefully you can get back to 3.70 one day.
     
  10. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    zoom314: It's possible that your settings are not being saved when you push on OK. The settings are supposed to get saved to the RealTemp.INI configuration file.

    TaskBar=0

    You should see that line in the INI file if you don't want RealTemp to minimize to the Task Bar and if you want it to minimize to the Task Bar, that should show the number 1.

    If the RealTemp.INI file is closed when you click on OK in the Settings window, you should be able to open this file immediately, without having to exit RealTemp and your new selection should have been saved.

    A big problem is that the RealTemp folder gets dragged somewhere that a user does not have full write access so the INI file gets write access turned off. I think this happens if you drag it directly to your C: drive. Download it again and unzip it directly to your Desktop just to test this out. Even simpler is you could go and right click on the RealTemp.INI file and make sure you have read and write access to that file. Make sure RealTemp is not still in the .zip archive. Some users run RealTemp from within a zip file and then none of the settings get saved.

    I have done a lot of work to RealTemp over the last few months and I am almost ready to release another update at TechPowerUp. If you want to do some beta testing, let me know. I have a few days off from work coming up so I will have some more time then for project RealTemp. The next version will look something like this with a few more features for the recent Ivy and Haswell CPUs.

    [​IMG]

    If you are still having problems, let me know what CPU and OS you are using.
     
  11. zoom314 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The problem doesn't always happen and I was able to right click on the ini file as if I wanted to edit the file, I found I could save info to it as the OS asked if I wanted to save the contents or not, since I had forgot to do a ctrl-f in notepad as I'd typed out 'task' altering the ini file mentioned. Still it's a good program and I use it all the time, thanks.
    C:\Users\actual\Documents\RealTemp\RealTemp.exe
    This is where I keep the files, if not ok I could reinstall elsewhere.
    i5 750 cpu, Win7 Pro x64 sp1.
     
  12. deniskaaaa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    real temp

    Hello I am a Russian user. and I have a question about the real temp... as in the settings to disable C1E? well, so when you start windows always been off mode C1E. would disable in realtemp.ini, but there is no such.
     
  13. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    You can try using ThrottleStop to enable or disable C1E. RealTemp does not save the state of C1E and RealTemp does not restore the C1E state after you boot up. Maybe some day I will add this feature to RealTemp. What CPU model do you have?

    ThrottleStop 5.00
    http://www.techinferno.com/downloads/
     
  14. deniskaaaa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    core i7 920 c0/c1
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page