1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Really annoying cursor/chrome issue (Found nothing on google)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by The_Ish, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. The_Ish

    The_Ish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    328 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Sweden
    So, everytime I want to click a link I have to first click taskbar before the cursor will even change into the link indicating hand cursor (essenssially deselecting the window that should be active, and selecting it again). If I don't do this, I'll have to click furiously for about 5 sec before it finally takes. I also get a horizonal scroll bar when hovering these links even though the page does not have one inherently. :banghead:

    The only thing I've installed the past week is Skype, and even though I haven't tried uninstalling it, I can't even fathom it being the cause, and besides I really need Skype so.. Not an option really anyway.

    Cookies and my devout admiration to anyone who can help me fix this issue :respect:
     
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I occasionally get something similar when running Firefox with two windows open on separate monitors, so I wonder if the problem is really outside the browser?

    Seems to happen the most when I want to copy a YouTube link and it won't auto select. I have to click in the other window and then back again to make it highlight. Otherwise the whole page remains effectively just a picture.

    I hope this helps you narrow it down.
     
  3. The_Ish

    The_Ish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    328 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks for responding, unfortunateley I don't use firefox nor more than one monitor.
     
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Skype toolbar? Maybe uninstall Chrome and reinstall?
     
  5. The_Ish

    The_Ish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    328 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Sweden
    Reinstalling didnt help, and I don't run skype all the time, only when I need to call.
     
  6. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Don't get fooled. This is a bat country!!!
     
  7. The_Ish

    The_Ish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    328 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Sweden
    It's still a problem, and I'm still watching this thread, so if anyone got any ideas, I'm all ears.
     
  8. The_Ish

    The_Ish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    328 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Sweden
    Bump. Still having issues, and I can't find my windows dvd :s
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Quite the odd problem, Ish. Does this show up in any other applications or utilities?
    I use Chrome and Skype with no problems at all so I don't think that is the issue.
     
  10. The_Ish

    The_Ish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    328 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Sweden
    Nope. I have tried IE, and it works fine there. Tried uninstalling Skype, didn't do it. doesn't show up in any other applications either.
    Finally I found the problem! It was the youtube converter! Which I already tried reinstalling, but obviously it was the plugin itself.. Never thought of that. Very odd how that would mess with the entire browser.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page