1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Really confused about new computer build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Network_guy, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I want to upgrade my computer very soon, probably within 2 weeks. I have alot of questions

    some background info:

    I want to get a q9450, a motherboard that supports it and is stable, I don't have the money for 3-way sli, I have a 8800GT

    questions

    Is it worth the money to invest in 1200mhz ram not overclocked?
    some motherboards say (1066,800,667) supports 1200 (oc). Does that mean that it does not support 1200 not oc?
    What memory should I get 1200, 1066, 800. would it be better to get 800 then oc to 1200 rather than wasting on a 1200?
    Asus motherboards are $200+ for 45nm, and Gigabyte motherboards are $100+. Why is it so much cheaper, is it that asus is much better in architecture, would it be better to get a gigabyte?
    I have a 8800gt should I go 2-way sli, will it make that much of a difference, if im not going 2-way sli then I don't need a sli motherboard or sli ram?
    A 1000W powersupply is $40 more than a 850W, is it worth it, is there any point to the extra 150W

    can anyone recomend me any products

    I will thank everyone who helps me out with my new build :)

    check this post I will update it with other questions if you would like to help
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,598 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    A couple of things you need to consider when creating a new build, first off what is your goal with it? Do you just want to slap it together, install OS and games and off you go? Or do you want to slap it together, get everything running okay, and start overclocking and tuning?

    That will have a big impact on what is and isn't recommended..SLI memory is more of a gimmick IMO, but SLI certified memory is usually very good quality stuff too, doesn't mean it's bad...just another label to make more sales imo.

    Give us some more info on what you want your build to do, how you want it to perform, what you expect out of it, if you plan to overclock, and how far you wanna go, what kind of cooling measures you're planning on taking if overclocking and such. Do that and you'll get more accurate recommendations.

    :toast:
    Network_guy says thanks.
  3. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Are you going to overclock at all either way? Gaming or everyday use or what? and just like Kursah said, you need to explain what it will be used for.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    depends on what you want to do TBH the Q9450 is a waste of money at this point a Q6600 will out oc it and is supported on many more mobos.

    here is a quick build for you that leaves you plenty of upgrade room

    Q6600 G0
    xigmatek s1283
    crucial ballstix 2x1gb (D9s)
    DFI lanparty X38
    epower 850w

    if you have to have the Q9450 just swap it and the Q6600 everything will still work just fine
    Network_guy says thanks.
  5. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I will be using if for gaming (crysis and all new games as far as I can go), photoshop and other design programs, running downloading software in the background antivirus and other protection programs constantly - even while gaming

    and yes I want to overclock

    thanks for the replies
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    the one i posted should do everything you want and assuming proper sli drivers for x38 are released you can pop in a second 8800 whenever
    Network_guy says thanks.
  7. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    will that setup work with what I want to do

    take the q6600 over the q9450, the q9450 is 45nm, the q6600 is not going to upset me in the future?
    if I take the q6600 then is it better to take a wolfdale instead of it?
  8. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    as to picking a PS, first you need to know what hardware you will be using.

    My PC Power & Cooling 510 runs my X2 6400 and a pair of 8800GTs just fine. If I was to OC than I would get the 610 or 750 to be safe, the Corsair PSs (520-750 are also excellent)

    As to mobos I have a Asus P5N E SLI that runs quads and the new 45nm stuff (its in the low $100 range)

    I try to stay away from the "Latest greatest" stuff as its a lot more $$,and usually only gets you a small increase in performance.

    SLI ram is just a marketing thing.

    If you get a SLI mobo and dont go SLI its no big deal, BUT it does give yo the option in the future if you change ur mind (2 8800GTs in SLI is pretty good)
    Network_guy says thanks.
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    it wont upset you thats for sure the 45nm just put out a little less heat you will hit just as high of an oc on that Q6600 and as i said if you have to have the Q9450 just select that instead of the Q6600 everything else will stay the same
    Network_guy says thanks.
  10. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I wouldnt recommend going duallys on video cards just yet IMO. To me, i only see a slight difference between a single card and cards in sli. like cdawall said, the q6600 is a good choice for an upgrade
    Network_guy says thanks.
  11. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    if that setup can do everything then why are people buying new q9xxx processors? and why are people buying 4gb ram?

    sorry for the amount of questions, I just want to find out everything. :eek:
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    4gb of ram is nice but if you are only in XP 32bit you will only be able to address 3.5gb of it. considering what you want to do just order 2 sets of the ram i posted

    people buy the Q9xxx series because the first number is bigger and it costs more. Some of PC builders are dumb and thats just what they go off bigger/more expensive=better thats half the reason P4s sold so well 3ghz sounded a hell of a lot better that 2ghz even if the 2ghz performed better :shadedshu
    Network_guy says thanks.
  13. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    something else to consider is how much you REALLY want to OC. I OC for about 5 min a month and the rest of the time its at stock. lol

    Getting a Wolfdale at 3.0Ghz may be a pretty good idea.(better than the 6750)
    Network_guy says thanks.
  15. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    so should I get a 6600, 6750, or 6850?

    or maybe I should consider getting a wolfdale at 3.0?

    which is better? quad core could prove usefull.
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I would pick between the Q6600 and Wolfdale.

    To me I dont see any need for 4 cores, but the Q6600 is becoming a pretty good deal.

    Flip a coin
    Network_guy says thanks.
  17. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I would use it for conversion of files, I will be converting alot

    so which is better out of the q6xxx?
  18. warhammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    204 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Do not get a 790i Mobo with Q6600 does not overclock well.(at this point in time with latest bios)
    Stick to DDR2 mem cheaper and you get more bang for $$$
    Good power supply a must.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  19. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I made some mistakes looking at processors, I thought 6750 was q but it was e and I looked at the price of a 6850.........

    so now its at cdawalls build and now I need to decide if I should get a q6600 or an e 8400
  20. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    the Q6600 e6750 and e6850 will all perform about the same. if they are all clocked at the same speed. i have a quad and its very nice for running benchmarks and such. but to be honest i upgraded to this q6600 from a e6750 and the only real difference i see is in benchmark numbers.

    the quads are great if your a multi-tasker. kick off a few videos to convert and play a game at the same time. until software becomes more parallel so it can take better advantage of having multi cores a quad is overkill.

    on the otherhand with the price of q6600's at all time lows the make a good bang for the buck.

    on good air cooling the wolfdales are hitting 4.0 ghz on averege where as a q6600 will be lucky to get 3.6 on air. in single threaded apps, the wolfdale wins.

    it looks like i've contradicted myself several times so far. but really that is the nature of intels lineup right now. so many choices and all of them are a good choice, its hard to make a bad decision.

    if it were me i'd have to flip a coin between the wolfdale e8xxx series and a q6600, both are so close in price atm.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  21. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I would go with the e8400. This is solely because you will overclock, and from what I have read and overclocked e8400 > q6600.

    Its not just that though; the quad cores arent used by many apps. (only things like video encoding). When quad cores become used by nearly everything, then you should get one.

    Edit: lol, ranger beat me to everything :p
    Network_guy says thanks.
  22. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    everyone here has a different opinion on everything. But the bottom line is one thing is generally > to another

    if I get a q6600 then I will get the cooler cdawall suggested, and the mobo

    I will get the memory regardless because I heard it was good.

    if I get the wolfdale then I have to find out which mobo overclocks best with it, and the best cooler

    here is what I got so far for my build through Canadian websites

    q6600 build

    http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=014207&cid=RAM.346.307
    http://www.1click2computers.com/product_details/detail.asp?prod_id=TPQ850
    http://www.sigelectronics.com/PC-Mac-Hardware/Computer-Accessories/Xigmatek-HDT-S1283-CPU-Cooler
    http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=22211&promoid=1046
    mobo I cannot find for a good deal, it comes out to 300
    *edit* http://www.tddirect.ca/products/128735/DFI/LanParty_LT_X38_T2R/

    e8400 build

    http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=018118&cid=CPU.84
    same memory
    same power supply
    dono about mobo
    dono about cooling
  23. dj_dn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada, QC, Gatineau
    i would buy from only one or two shops to save money on shipping. And buy the case locally cause its dang $$$ to get them shipped.

    I go for ncix online and Shoprbc for local.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  24. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I can drive to all of these stores thanks.
  25. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    is a xeon x3220 supirior to a q6600?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page