1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Really confused about new computer build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Network_guy, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. warhammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    204 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    As far as I know there is no support for SLI on no NVIDIA MOBO unless you get hacked drivers. can some one in the know confirm this.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  2. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,473 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    The Xeon X3350 is teh Q9450 equivalent. I just ordered it the other day and should be getting it within the next few days. I will be running test clock for clock (stock and OC) to see what one is faster and I will OC it as far as I can on air. I have a thread in the General hardware section dedicated to this.

    As far as teh x38 chipset goes, you cant do SLi on it. All chipsets other than 680i (doesnt support 45nm quads), 780i, and 790i support crossfire. The xxxi chipsets support SLi.

    I have an OCZ GameXstream 850 watt PSU and it powers my Q6600 (soon to be replaced with my Xeon mentioned earlier) and an 8800GT just fine. It could easily do Crossfire or SLi with no issues. SLi RAM doesnt really do anything BTW. Just marketing. The PSU's are different on the other hand.

    Either get DDR2-800 that are known overclockers (read reviews; G.Skill comes to mind) or some DDR2-1066.
    Network_guy and BloodTotal say thanks.
  3. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    x is server grade and can withstand higher temperatures no one else realizes that
    Network_guy says thanks.
  4. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,473 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    That it can. :)
    Network_guy says thanks.
  5. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    836 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    but is it better than a q9450 in general who will know

    plus its a bit cheaper I think
    Network_guy says thanks.
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,473 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Its essentially the same. The only thing that separates the X3350 from the 9450 is that the X3350 can withstand more heat. Thats it.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    And lower voltages I think, whats the price though, b/c I couldn't see paying much more for one.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    they were supposed to add SLi support to the X38/48 chipsets that was part of the deal with NV getting 45nm updates on 680/780i
    Network_guy says thanks.
  9. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ive decided to get a quad, so maybe it would be better to get a x3220 instead of a q6600, if so, what motherboard should I get?
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    X3220 same mobo i said earlier
    Network_guy says thanks.
  11. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    cool

    so how come people suggest the q6600 first then?
  12. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,473 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Its cheaper for a retail version of the X3350 than it is for the OEM of the 9450.

    Heres the link to the site I bought it from Amazon.com

    It was cheaper than that when I bought it. Price went up because there are only 3 left in stock. I paid $359.88 for it at the time of my purchase. I actually paid less for it shipped to me in 1-3 days than what the current price is. :D
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
    Network_guy says thanks.
  13. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    if a xeon is the same as a quad, and it can withstand more temperature since it is server grade. Maybe it is a good idea to get one, ive decided to get a xeon quad.

    as you can see here is the chart for all intel 5000 xeons
    http://www.intel.com/products/processor/xeon5000/specifications.htm?iid=products_xeon5000 tab_specs

    and here for the 3000 xeons
    http://www.intel.com/products/processor/xeon3000/specifications.htm


    here are some choices

    out of the 5000 family
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117150
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117147

    out of the 3000 family
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117127&Tpk=x3220
    http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=28849&promoid=1046
    http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=28847&promoid=1046

    what is the difference between the 3000 and the 5000 family?
    get a 45nm, or a 65nm?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    lets get this out of the way which one 3000, or 5000?
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Those 5000s won't work in a x38/x48, as they are lga771 socket instead of 775. The real thing about xeons is they are to be used in tandem a la server mbs (which will have socket 771). 45nm is the way to go. Get one of those yorkfields from ncix. I would say the first one if you have the money (x3350, double the cache).
    Network_guy says thanks.
  15. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    are the 5000s better though in any way?
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    No they are pretty much identical to their 3xxx bretheren (and their q9xxx brethren at that), with the key difference being that they are a 771 socket and can thus be used as a pair in a server mb.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  17. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ooh ive heard about this board, dual cpu, get 2 quads and you have 8 cores

    thanks

    would I see a big difference in performance going from 65nm to 45nm
  18. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well, the thing about the 45nm is they tend to also have more cache, being the latest and greatest. They also produce less heat and require less power to oc. So, yes, you will notice a difference, although a monumental one it is not.

    There are several server boards out there, high end macs have them. They aren't really practical for home use though. To be perfectly honest, I would think the q6600 would be enough. It would give you solid performance for a few years, and if your like me you may get more and more into this stuff, and you'll want to upgrade before too long, and nahalem is bringing completely new architecture before too long. If you aren't worried about the extra $150 though, then the x3350 is definately better and the way to go.
  19. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  20. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Did you decide what video card(s) your getting? That will be the deciding factor on what mb to get.
    Network_guy says thanks.
  21. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I already have a 8800GT, and it is being bottlenecked by my 3200+
  22. Kovoet

    Kovoet

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    863 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Reading up on everything I have read I would go for the Q6600 to be honest
    Network_guy says thanks.
  23. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Ah, well in that case don't get the x38, b/c it is a cf board. I would either go w/ a 780i if you plan on getting another one in the future for sli, or a p35 board of some kind if not. p35 will give you better ocs most likely, and sli usually isn't worth it, so I would do that. But if you want the option for sli, the 780i would be the way to go. An x38 would be wasted unless you sell that gt for some ati cards.
  24. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    why? (directed at kovoet)
  25. Network_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I don't mind not having sli, as I agree with the fact that it give a small amount of performance increase. So what board should I get? for this setup

    this will be in antec 900 btw

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page