1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Really wanting X-fire 5870's, but is it worth it?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by acperience7, Feb 11, 2011.

1. acperience7

Thanks Received:
    I have $230 burning a hole in my pocket, and I am eying another [identical] 5870 for my system. The big question I have is: Is it worth it? I ask this giving the following information:

• I plan to do a full system overhaul around the 2nd generation of BullDozer (New GPU, Motherboard, CPU, RAM etc...)
    • I plan to leave the rest of my rig as is (check my specs for details)
    • I don't plan on overclocking my stuff yet (I'm a complete newbie at it anyway).
    • I will be purchasing (hopefully) more games for the PC as opposed to my PS3. Maybe even replaying some titles on PC instead of PS3.

A few questions about X-fire:
    • I have only glanced at the current state of X-fire setups, but they seem to have come along in leaps and bounds. Is this true?
    • I have done some research on X-fire setups under the GX series with HD5XXX and it seems a bottleneck is present, but it doesn't seem like something I would really affect me at my resolution. From the experiences or expertise you may have would you consider this true?
    • Will 4GB of RAM be a great hindrance? It seems that 8GB is the "new standard" of a high end rig.
    • Do any X-fire users out there have issues with older games. Lets say Halo: Combat Evolved for example or Sim City 4?
    • Is there anything else I should I know before going to a X-fire setup? I'm sure there's a tutorial around here. I'll hunt for one if need be.

2. Wrigleyvillain

Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

Thanks Received: