1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

really weird problem with google/youtube

Discussion in 'General Software' started by jacksyee, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Really desperate. I have a 4G account with a local provider (I livein HK and am out of the city so only other option is DSL)

    For some reason I cannot access google, gmail or youtube anymore on my home network.

    I can access it from my IPAD 3G with the same provider but different acccount.

    Everything else is accessible.

    It worked fine for months and one day just stopped.

    Any ideas? I have a mac, two pcs attached to the network and it's the same on all 3 PCs.

    If I connect the IPAD to Wifi on this network cannot access the above sites, turn wifi off and I can.

    AVG internet protection if that matters.

    Any help really appreciated. it's so frustrating having to go to Bing.
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,484 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    I'm having problems with youtube and gmail too on my PCs. I think the problem is Google.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    YouTube too tho. Does google own YouTube?
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,468 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,426
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Yes, for years now.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    yes
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,732 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,316
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    have you tried to uninstal the browser or just try portable browser
    it might be from your browser
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    yep, its there on youtube. this generaly happens when they are implemention some sort of change.

    like in youtube, the guide bar on the left is now actually a frame along with the stuff at the top.
  8. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks very much but im still confused as to what to do?

    reinstall internet explorer?
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    no. its not your fault. it will be fixed on its own. its google and youtubes fault.

    just make sure that your java and flash is upto date.
  10. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, just to be clear - even though only I have this issue and no one else it's unlikely i can do anything?


    Do you think there is any chance the have banned my IP?

    By the way - I updated Java and Flash - didn't help.

    D/L Google chrome - doesn't work with that either.

    It's not blocked in my hosts file (google or youtube).
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
  12. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Further information - I CAN use google and youtube if I turn on a VPN program called Hotspot Shield that makes it seem like I'm browsing from the USA

    Given that my wife can't use it on her Mac either I wonder if my IP is blocked?

    Google is not banned in HK for sure, and I'm able to access it on my Ipad with 3g so that isn't it.

    Feel like I'm getting somewhere now that I can do it with the VPN
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    i know what is happening... the 4gb internet provider is probably based outside honkong where google is banned. and their gateway is situated on one such network where the google is banned. thus when you try to use that 4g, its not possible to get to google. this also explains why using a proxy server (VPN) you can access it.
  14. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm, possibly but I think it may not be that

    a) I'm using the same provider on my Ipad, just a different SIM and it works fine
    b) Other websites banned on the Wiki page are fine (facebook and wordpress for example)
  15. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,732 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,316
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i would do simple thing first like using different browser, try tor browser
    if both dont work maybe its from your provider
    i dunno maybe your ip get banned or theres something wrong just with your line :D
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    you said you use 3g on the ipad, but you are having problems with 4G.

    im sure 3g and 4g are using different gateways into the internet. call your provider and tell them, its their fault not yours.
  17. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, tried 3g and 4g on ipad, both work fine, same provider.

    maybe i should switch the sims and see if that works

    have tried 3 browers - chrome, firefox, and explorer - no good

    will try the provider in any case and thanks for the ideas so far
  18. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Update : went to security.google.com on my IPad and it had "suspicious logins" from my home IP address.

    I clicked "this was me", they all turned green.

    When I get home I will see if everything works but this seems to me to be very likely.
  19. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,730 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    579
    try a different dns
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,158 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,479
    change to google DNS


    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
  21. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you - can you explain what you mean to change to google dns (how to do it?) - that i do not understand
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,158 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,479
    google it. you can change it per device (PC, tablet, etc) or in a router.
  23. janeparker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
  24. jacksyee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page