1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Realtek HD audio crackling

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by Rasputin, Oct 30, 2011.

  1. Rasputin

    Rasputin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Basically when I use headphones with my desktop, I get a steady crackling sound constantly.
    Sound is built into the motherboard which is a GIGABYTE GA-A75M-UD2H.

    Have tried various things on other forums with people who have the same problem, like uninstalling EasyTune6 (don't even know what it is).

    One interesting point is that I have noticed the crackling increases in frequency/pitch when the CPU is under load, when the HDD is running particularly quickly and when I do things like scroll up and down pages and resize windows, but I guess thats to do with the CPU load.

    Anybody else have this problem / know how to fix? It's really pretty annoying..

    P.S. I don't get this using the speakers built into my monitor which is plugged into the socket at the BACK of the computer, headphones plugged into the FRONT.
     
  2. satelitko

    satelitko

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I had a similar problem before, but it was buzzing and humming. Disabling the Line-in on the card fixed the issue.
     
    Dogshitjoint says thanks.
  3. Rasputin

    Rasputin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Doesn't seem to have done anything for me :/
     
  4. mad1394

    mad1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    The more connectors the signal has to pass through, the more it degrades.
    As far as I know you can't fix it, you either have to plug stuff directly in the back of the pc or buy a sound card.
     
    Dogshitjoint says thanks.
  5. satelitko

    satelitko

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    It's not about signal degradation. It's about interference. Maybe the mobo or one of the audio connectors is making contact with your case?
     
  6. Rasputin

    Rasputin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cumbria, United Kingdom
    It's not degradation, and I shouldn't have to buy a new part to solve this.

    I'll have a look inside it later on and make sure nothing is making contact with the case but i'm sure I checked that before I sealed it up for the first time.
     
  7. satelitko

    satelitko

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    If it's not that, then I have no other ideas :) Hope you resolve that issue, as I know how terribly annoying it can be :)
     
  8. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    As we all may or may not know the Anolog signal from the circuit is crap!...But the Digital is a whole other story as it allows the signal to be bypassed directly without any interference from the other components on your mobo to another D/A /DAC. like an A/V receiver or other solutions.

    But...there is another option that is software! no way Jose´you may say ;) I recommend purchasing/Trial the SRS Audio Sandbox 1.10.2.0 or newer if availble...to my surprise the analog audio became greatly improved even if the db went down. ofc.

    I use my headphone jack that is on my Marantz as its probably 1000 times better/cleaner as it is more or less lossless.

    I hope this helps some of you to find a way out of the messy/crappy Analog Audio (even if this is way good outside of a computer ;)).

    Oh I must clarify that I am in no way a certified Hi-Fi "Pro" but I do consider myself to be on average maybe?.

    Cheers all

    //Dog

    @ Rasputin: Gigabyte EasyTune is an OC utility that also can and works as a softwarebased CPU-Fancontroller (I use it myself and it is really good at that!)
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2011
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    It also depends on the front header; I had that problem with my Antec Three Hundred but no with my Silvestone case, with both I used a Xonar DS as my onboard sound is really bad, it's not even Realtek.
     
    Dogshitjoint says thanks.
  10. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    It sounds like maybe earthing problems or static, have you tried a different set of headphones?

    Clean all the terminals, plugs, and look for possible interference sources.

    I had my realtek chip blow [may have been capacitor] a few weeks ago, i had to buy a sound card to fix it.
     
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    Dogshitjoint says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  12. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    That seems to be a very neat little solution and +1 for the wrapping w. "el-tape"

    I never use the front myself but I always love ideas like yours - coming from own exp. not others:rockout:

    //Dog
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page