1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Realtek R2.16 X-Fi mod driver

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ketxxx, Mar 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,019 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    Location:
    Ohio
    what about x-fi drivers for my audigy II zs :(
    I'm lucky I even get to use "stereo surround" in the creative audio console thanks to daniel_k
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    1. The drivers ALONE (no need for any creative apps) significantly improve audio quality, and everybody who has tried just the driver do not have issues. I'm double checking 64bit drivers.

    2. What I'm doing is not illegal in any way, I'm not making any money for it, and, some may be surprised to know what I've done takes very little to no coding knowledge to do - anyone who knows how to sit at a keyboard and type / copy and paste could of done this.

    3. Everybody here at least to a reasonable degree know what they are doing and certainly know keeping drivers updated is important, thus, the stock Realtek drivers they were coming from would not of been very old anyway. To invalidate your point further you will notice a stock Realtek driver install uses around something like 6-15MB (forget exact figure, someone may wish to chime in with the right number) where this modded driver ALONE comes in at 59.53MB when installed. Thats not a plecebo effect, neither is so many people saying they have noticed a significant audio quality increase, and even other people in chat applications saying a individuals mic is much clearer than it was!

    4. A valid MAC key isn't going to help WINDOWS users :rolleyes:

    5. Actually, the Vista>XP split is very even. I myself have tried Vista SP1, and it simply blows. I'm waiting for W7 (which, shock horror, these modded drivers work perfectly fine on.) :cool:
     
  3. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,089 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    So this will make my realtek not sound so crappy? Gunna give it a shot when I get home!

    Post 1,333. lol
     
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    If you can give me the links to that stuff I'll help ya look.

    ED - People who can't get JUST the driver to work (if I'm reading posts right) be SURE your onboard codec is a Realtek chip and that it is HDA capable not a AC97 chip. In the case of the codec being BOTH a Realtek chip and being HDA capable, be sure its set to work in HDA in your BIOS. The drivers themselves do deffinately support 64bit, and are known to support ALL Realtek HDA codecs.

     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2009
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    just to add to this:

    The creative driver has improved audio in analogue, for a lot of users. microphone users are claiming things are louder and clearer.

    The creative drivers install in windows vista and windows 7 just fine - the only thing that doesnt work is baically the equaliser and crystalliser, and i can use the realtek software for the EQ still.

    This mod also inspired me to turn my auzentech X-mystique into a HT Omega sound card through a driver mod... its not illegal or hard in any way, its purely editing text files.
     
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    The driver I modded is in no shape or form a Creative driver, its Realteks ;)
     
  7. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    So does the EAX 4.0 work?

    Need to test these later this evening I have no need for the software if the drivers work (and S/PDIF in vista too).
     
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    EAX should be functioning. I can choose to enable or disable it at will with the creative software. Best thing to do is to fire up a game that uses EAX, and see what it does.
     
  9. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    So this works with vista x64?
     
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    The driver does yes, its the creative software that doesn't.
     
    silkstone says thanks.
  11. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    No surprise there then. thx
     
  12. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, plan to do that later.

    This software has positional sound test, should be fairly easy to tell if it does anything better.
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/RightMark-3DSound-Download-15712.html

    With my current windows driver you can't tell with headphones if the sound is coming from front or back. Something I could easily tell on Audigy with EAX 4 on BF2142.
     
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    We will all look forward to your results!
     
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,737
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Anyone sniff Troll? :rockout:
     
  15. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I do :D

    Try actual games, might just be as the drivers are modded rightmark can't see EAX. Bioshock supports EAX doesn't it? I'll install that if it does and let people know if I can turn EAX on. Oh and I want your desktop wallpaper :D
     
  17. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I did try with BF2142 too, doesn't work any differently, but that's a Vista thing. OpenAL should work and support EAX effects in games that support it. Otherwise EAX shouldn't work at all in Vista. That's why I went onboard audio instead of Audigy 2 I have.

    Someone got a X-Fi or Audigy and Vista and could try that software what it says?

    And you got PM about the wallpaper :)
     
    Ketxxx says thanks.
  18. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Thanks :D
     
    PCpraiser100 says thanks.
  19. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Got them working, I just turned off the driver signing service and trust installing the software. Everything is great however I dunno abou the 30day trial part better PM me on that. Thanks a lot :)
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ket, Do I have to install the Creative software with this? I am on Win 7 7k with Realtek on both boards.
     
  21. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    well the 30day trial software working on xp and detecting my sound as realtek X-Fi I'm going to test it on vista x64 .... ketxxx any news about non-trial creative software if so please PM me ...... thanks.
     
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Nope, theres no need to install the creative software. The modded Realtek driver will give a nice sound quality boost by itself. All the creative suit does is give access to features like the crystalizer, equalizer, etc.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  23. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,089 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Do I have to uninstall my old audio drivers? I'm guessing it's a good idea.
     
  24. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    of course man and make sure you clean every thing using Driver Sweeper from guru3d.com
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Thank you Ket. I noticed a difference right away. Vista 64 2.17's here. Also I didnt clean the old drivers.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page